A Week in Paradise


Advertisement
South America
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a week so far. There are only 5 of us on the 72ft catamaran (instead of 12) with 6 crew and a naturalist, who is fabulous. The staff is fabulous and there is always someone there to take care of things, and we eat about every 2 hours, which is perfect 😊 My highlight is probably swimming with the sea lions! They are so playful and cute. Some of the young ones actually come as close as possible without touching. On one of the first days, I was looking to the side at the fish and then when I turned forward there was a sea lion gliding by less than a foot from my face, what a pleasant surprise! Another time, there were about 10 of them and one would swim right under you, and I do not know how he would do so without hitting me. Then they dart around doing sommersaults and chasing schools of fish, which get smaller and smaller as some escape! Today I saw one doing this for a while and then he was eating something so I think he caught something. I spent about 20 minutes this morning hanging out with 3 young sea lions, about 1 year old. One was intent on fish chasing, while the other two were just chilling and checking me out. We were all just floating with the waves in about 2 feet of water. A few times I was nose to nose with one of the little guys, less than 6 inches away and I frantically grabbed a rock as the wave tried to push me into him! Then they found a plastic cup (bad tourist!), and I watched as they vied to get it, determined that I would save them from it. One got it and proudly swam a bit away, but then he dropped it and it came towards me. I grabbed it, but did not have anywhere to hide it and he wanted it back! I did not think I should try to play keep away since I was outnumbered and they woould easily beat me in a race, they are so graceful, so I actually held it out and he took it out of my hands. I was sad to see him with it, but it sure was cool.

The amount of wildlife is amazing! I have seen hundreds of sea lions,
Lidia and I on Bartolome IslandLidia and I on Bartolome IslandLidia and I on Bartolome Island

Pinacle rock in background
marine iguanas, boobies (Nasca and Blue Footed), reef sharks, sea turtles and land tortoises, and lots of different types of birds and fish. The coral is not colorful like in other places, but the quantity and diversity of animals in the water is fantastic. The marine igaunas are especially fascinating. They are endemic to the galapagos and after warming themselves on the shore (sometimes in piles), they enter the water to feast on algae! We got to see a couple of them eating and swimming, but mostly we see them sunning themselves. They also squirt salt out of their nose because they take so much in. They are grayish on most islands, but on Espanola the males are red and get a green stripe during mating season (just in time to be red and green for Christmas), which is still occuring, so there were lots of colorful big male iguanas and smaller black-brown female iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks.

Two days ago we had to rescue a female sea turtle that had tried to go on land to lay her eyes and had gotten lost in a lagoon with flamingos. She weighed about 200lbs and it took 5
Pinacle Rock and PelicanPinacle Rock and PelicanPinacle Rock and Pelican

Bartolome Island, Galapagos
guys to carry her out flapping away, but Juan Carlos (our naturalist) thinks she will be ok and lay her eggs safely. Lots more to say, but we are off to the Darwin Research Center, I am very sad that we have less than 2 days left, but then I am off to Buenos Aires to eat fabulous steaks, drink red wine and, according to Lidia, have lots of delicious ice cream (an added bonus).

Advertisement



29th January 2010

WOW
What a fabulous adventure!! The way you relate it makes me so want to go there soon!! Can't wait to see the pictures. 2 degrees when we woke this am with strong winds. Went to teach at mountain and then took a few runs. I do not think it got above 7 degrees all day; but it sure was fun and very pretty, with sun shining all day. headed to downtown new london tonite for a progressive dinner, on snowshoes, around the downtown green, sponsored by a number of local restaurants and others. Very busy winter we are having. Mom is no longer complaining about a lack of meeting people and social life!!! She is now looking forward to mud season for some downtime!! What a life we lead/..... Love your blog so keep it up! LOTS OF LOVE DAD

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb