To Villa Santa Lucia


Advertisement
South America
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I wondered in my memory that the sound of the village of La Junta was equal to the government of the time of Pinochet. I did not know and maybe there were more meanings to the word La Junta. But in the end it was to honour this government that the village got the name. There was a sort of statue at the North-side of the villag that was so ugly that I did not even take the picture. At breakfast I met my second Dutchmen on the Carretera from Groningen with his Spanish girlfriend. They took off for a year just to travel from the South to the North.
Going out of La Junta crossing was lovely, another orange bridge and back in a very green valley with the sound of water. Sometimes you think that when it might be really warm this area would be full of mosquito´s. Now just big flies which from time to time really pinched trough my cycle clothes. Although the morning was promissing the clouds stayed and the high mountains were hidden for the largest part. The road was not so good as to La Junta but it was still much better than I cycled before. Only small parts of ripio and stones and short steep climbs. I met a Argentinian father and son on the road. The father started to walk before every climb. That would take some time to the end of the Carretera. Also met a threesome from Canada, France and Belgium started from Alaska and Montana on their way their way to Ushuaia. The 69 km in 4.42 was good for the day. It takes time to cycle the world. But you meet nice people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb