South America - a summary


Advertisement
South America
January 20th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left SA on 1st June, exactly 3 months after we’d arrived in Rio!! I felt sad to leave but we were both really excited about the next 7 months we’d spend in Australia. Now we’ve had our 7 months in Australia and I’m sat in an internet café in New Zealand.

I never finished my South America blog (I did write an entry for Chile but never uploaded it and now I cant find it!). So, in honour here’s some highlights/lowlights of the trip (I wrote this not long after arriving in Oz but just never uploaded it!).

Highlights (top 8 because I cant do top 5!)
1. Rurranabaque, Bolivia
2. Salkantay Trek, Peru
3. Buenos Aires, Argentina
4. Death Road/La Paz, Bolivia
5. Rio, Brazil
6. Iguazu Falls, Argentina
7. Salar De Uyuni, Bolivia
8. Uspallata, Argentina

Lowlights
1. Money stolen on bus (This happened to us in Chile - I explained all in the blog I never uploaded! Basically we were a little careless but also the money was stolen by the staff as we disembarked for a re-fuel. So frustrating but good came of it when some locals took pity on us and helped us out - lending us their holiday apartment for my birthday and also inviting us to spend time with them in Santiago. Silver linings are real).
2. Lake Titicaca - Peru - pretty crap place.
3. Florianopolis - Brazil - no culture.
4. La Boca, Buenos Aires - don’t get the 126 bus as the Lonely Planet recommends!
5. Altitude sickness and gastroenteritis, La Paz, Bolivia


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb