Arrived, a little worse for wear, but unbelievably happy


Advertisement
South America
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

From Buenos Aires, Argentina....

Without a doubt I had a small tear in my eye when I walked through the gates at the Buenos Aires Airport and Sarah was there, cute hippie braid and all to pick me up! My flights were wonderful and comfertable and the second of the two planes was full of American and Canadian retired cruise junkies. The new rage is Buenos Aires through Antarctica and up to Chile. Sounds like a wonderful trip!

The begening of the vacation was a bit of a challange. My lovley and wonderful friends Dani and Kristi took me in for the last few nights in Canada and, after a day in rainy Vancouver we took to Granville island for fresh mussles and local wine. Unfortunatly the first mussle that tasted just a little too fishy really caught up to me at about 6am in the US customs line up. I have never looked around a room in hopes to find someone who looked like a mom. Not only was I kealing over in pain, but my vision became blury, and if that little voice telling me to breathe wasn't there, I would have be unconscious lying half in and half out of Canada. Right along the full body scanner. Thank goodness I managed to pull myself together and put on my ipod and listen to relaxing music ( I think this is what began to send away the food poisoning) and I made it onto the plane and slept the entire trip.

Buenos Aires is a city of tango and beautiful colonial architecture. Sarah and I spent last night touring the busy pedestrian only streets and dreaming of a platinum credit card. The shoes are made of the most beautiful leather in styles more amazing than anything sold in the boutiques of Paris. Our evening closed with a magnificent pasta dinner and the planning of the rest of the trip. We are booked into Salvador de Bahia for the 14th of February, so time is tight. The massive continent will definatly be a challenge in terms of travel, but apparently the buses are designed for long trips with full recliners, meals, and good movies. Sunday is our departure date, as we will travel to Mendoza, the city of dreams. Dreams of Wine and Vineyards.

After Mendoza we will move North East, stopping along the way we'll hit Falls de Iguazu, cross the Brazillian boarder, and eventually hit Rio and then Salvador. Sarah and mines, tear, break up date is most likley the 3rd of March, I will travel along to Peru and conquer Machu Pichu and then fly to meet Tessa in Belize!

My spanish needs alot of work, but Sarah has a great phrase book and she has got the basics down so hopefully Ican pull it together quickly!

Other than that, everything is absolutly fantastic. I love being on the road again! Our hostel, hostel Obelisco is beautiful and clean and at a really good price. Tonight were going to a dinner Tango show! A little on the pricey side, set in a cruise ship like dining room with exceptional food and unlimited wine, it should be an experience of a life time.

Evita's grave site in scheduled for the next few hours of the day, and I will report in soon with pictures of tonights performance. It should be spectacular! La Ventana Tango Show is the name.

Ciao until next time,
M

One more note: Dad, Argentinian's look like Canadians. I could definatly be the typical local. Blonde hair and all!x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb