Nazca


Advertisement
South America
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have had a VERY crazy morning. I arrived in Nazca yesterday and booked a room at the ´Friend´s house´hostel and also booked a flight over the Nazca lines through them. This morning I waited at the hostel for my tour of the Nazca lines at 8.30am as arranged, but no one turned up and there were no hostel staff around. Eventually the hostel guy turned up and was like, ´oh yeah - it isnt happening now´!

Luckily, I have a rule of never paying until I do something so I didn´t lost any money, but flights are only widely available in the morning before it is too hot so I was worried I would be stuck in Nazca another day waiting for a flight, and there isn´t that much else here! So I decided to get a taxi directly to the airport where they wanted $60 for a flight. I bartered them down to $40 which is five less than I was meant to pay through the hostel anyway. Also, the lady I was speaking to had visited Wales before (can you believe it?? She knew Swansea!) so she spoke to the pilot and I got to have the seat up front next to him for the flight!! I did feel a bit bad that the other four in the 6 seater (yes, tiny!) plane had paid $20 more than me and I got the best seat!!

The lines were amazing, its unbeluevable they have lasted so long and you can see that they have sustained some damage. There is no doubting that I had to see them, but equally spectacular was the scenery as we flew accross the dessert. The plane tips and turns and judders a lot and I don´t really like flying much but it was so gorgeous I wasn´t even a bit nervous. The man behind me had to make use of his sick bag though!

I have just booked a bus to Arequipa, I didn´t want to go overnight and most of them are, but I have managed to get one with a decent company for 3pm which gets in at 11.30pm, and my planned hostel is directly opposite the terminal. The price was meant to be 90 soles but I got them down to 60 soles so very pleased with that. Then when I got back to the hostel I got my bags and only paid 10soles instead of 15, I argued that breakfast was meant to be included and no one got up and sorted it, and that they messed up my flight reservation. He said I should never come back, haha - I don´t think I want to!

My bag is now stashed at the bus terminal, so I am going to get some lunch and have another quick wander around Nazca before going to get my bus. I plan to spend a few days in Arequipa, which is Peru´s second largest city and knows as the White City. While there I am thinking about trekking in the Colca Canyon and possibly visiting the valley of the volcanoes - I will keep everyone posted!

Advertisement



30th November 2009

flying desserts...
Wow sounds fun Kat. Incidentally, what kind of dessert did you fly over? Mont Blancmange?! :P x

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb