argennnntina!


Advertisement
South America
October 28th 2009
Published: October 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

finally back to my blog! I loved reading your comments😊 its nice knowing people back home are thinking of Amy and I.

After Mendoza Amy and I travelled to a smaller town in Patagonia called Bariloche with a friend we met in Mendoza. Our little Joanna 😊 the sweetest little thing you have ever met, she stayed with us for 4 days! We loved having her around, she is from the Uk and every once in a while Amy and I caught ourselves trying to copy her accent, haha. sooo funny... poor Joanna! While I was in Bariloche I seriously talked like I was from somewhere else... not on purpose, but meeting so many people from so many different places you tend to pick up little things here and there and communicating to the locals is tough so your always speaking broken english, happy to say im talking like a real canadian again😊 hehe... anyways, Bariloche!! SOOOO gorgeous, we heard it was a lot like Banff/Jasper back home and it really was. It didnt feel like we were in Argentina at all. The town was right on the side of the lake with snow covered mountains surrounding. Like Banff and Jasper all the buildings were made of log! It was weird seeing palm trees and tropical flowers in the mountains. The town was def. a touristy town, lots of people roaming the streets and tonnes and tonnes of shops! all very expensive😞 I didnt buy anything! weehooo, well besides a bracelet, but that was only 5 pesos. good job meeeee. It was Amys birthday while we were down there and she really wanted to do a tour! we decided on rafting!!!! SOOOO fun, a whopping 330 pesos, but worth every penny😊 Our guide was awesome too. The other boat was all english speaking peeps and we were in the spanish speaking boat, eee! but the guide translated for us and we didnt mind one bit. taking in the veiw and just giggling our asses off being there was all we needed! The rapids were soooo fun, I was so scared! especially since I cant swim, butttt amy and I even jumped into the water and floated down the river for like 10 minutes.. froze our bums off mind you😊 when we dove in I seriously screamed at the top of my lungs for like 3 mintues... hehe, so funny. The guide told us the name of each rapid, and I cant remember one... oh wait, I remember one; vaseline, and I only remember that because I embarrassed myself. haha, need I say more. oooo and we met some awesome canadian boys! I think Canada really does have the nicest people. Nate and Ben were there names, we ended up going to a local bar called Dusk with them, Joanna and 3 girls from Denmark. It was a freakng blasssssssssssssst. They didnt have a dance floor (which was really weird, considering it was clearly a dance club!) but Ams and I squished in the front pushed some tables aside and went to town. haha. The bar even handed out free champagne, niiiice. We left Bariloche about a week ago, it was soooo cold there. We heard the further south you go the colder it is (makes sense considering we arent too far from Antartica) but holy crow! we werent expecting the wind... I have never been in wind like that before. It was ridiculous, I felt like I was actually blowing over.

After Bariloche we went north! Buenos Freaking Aries. or as amy and I call it.. freaking Buenos Aries. I was not totally in love with the place... maybe not even a little. I think I enjoy the smaller cities more, not so much chaaaaaos. I couldnt handle all the people! the side walks are tiny as well, so your always bumping into people... and its really dirty. and I hate complaining about how dirty the city is... obviously places arent going to be as clean as back home, but it is just sooooo dirty. The architecture is amazing, and there are a lot of beautiful areas in the city. Im really glad I went and saw it, and experienced it... Im just not sure Id go back! although, we did miss the famous tango shows... and BA is FAMOUS for its wild night life, and sadly we didnt even party there. Actually, Im not even that sad about it... we werent feeling it as much as we thought we were going to. We did visit a few different barrios (neighbourhoods) and met up with some friends we met in Vina Del Mar (that was nice) and visited the cemetery there. Amy and I did have fun there, and I finally picked up a cute side purse from the sunday market. good thing, I hate carrying my daypack around all day... on days when we are doing lots its good, but I feel more vulnerable having it with me all the time. Ohhh and when we were leaving BA, I got the side of my back pack slashed.. a dirty little theif. GEe, that ticks me off!! and its scary you know... thinking someone can approach and take what they want so quickly. not to mention a knife being so close and not even knowing it... grrr! he didnt or she didnt get anything, I stuck my camera case in the side pocket because it wouldnt fit anywhere else ( good thing I would never even think to leave my camera in it, I had that in my purse) even when I stuck it there, I was like watch someone take it.... sure enough I looked at my pack last night and theres a big gash and its gone. JOKES on you robber. Amy and I were really surprised it happened too because we are always watching eachothers packs while we are walking... and we are always right next to eachother. and we never leave our packs.... so they really are sneaky! just a reminder that we have to be really careful with our things....

Now, we are in Peurto Igauzu.... yayyyyy! small city, hot as hell... and waterfallls... wehoo! we are going to the national park today to visit them😊 exxxxxciting!!!! we arent staying long, I think we are going to head out tomorrow to Salta, and prepare ourselves for Bolivia!! wehoo!!

what else can I tell you... hehe, umm I quit washing my hair 😊 amy did too but decided she is going to wash it today, poor thing... afros make it easier to not wash. haha... Oh I could just go on forever about all the things that have happened, and all the places we have seen! but this entry is long enough 😊

sorry still no pictures!!!
Love yallll
Miranda

Advertisement



28th October 2009

OH MANDY...once again I had a few small chuckles ! Love how you can describe your trip with all the little details...some good and some bad. So you mean you are not ever washing your hair again ! haha hope not ! Can't wait to see some pic's. HAVE FUN BE SAFE
28th October 2009

~my girl~
Mirandy!! i love hearing your blogs, althought i do not like hearing that there is aholes down there trying to rob ya!! i really hope that you guys dont come across something like that again! I heard that the waterfalls are amazing!! Take lots of pictas my girl! i am soo proud of yous! alll of us here are thinking of ya alllll the time. keep the updates coming!! please be safe girlies! lots of love!! mandy
29th October 2009

Bolivia!
True story.. I sponsor a child from Bolivia and his name is Pablo MIRANDA Apazo.. you should see if there are any memorials or anything for Che Guevara there. That'd be neat. Have fun!
29th October 2009

Glad to read the update - sounds as if you are having a great time except for the pack incident. What made you decide to stop washing your hair? Makes you think Mark would do well on that trip! I have been trying to post the photo I took of the 2 of you at the airport but I obviously haven't mastered all aspects of Facebook yet - will keep trying.Tell Amy to write and keep safe

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb