Galapagos Day 4


Advertisement
South America
October 25th 2009
Published: October 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, day was a long hike. Actually, I shouldn't call it a hike, since that implies a long walk over very level ground with some rocks or something. This was a climb. Three hundred and sixty seven steps supposedly (I didn't count). Early start (6:45 am) to trek to the ferry across to Puerta Ayora then 45 minute boat ride to where the yacht had docked last night.

A little over an hour and a half got us to Bartholome Island. It is one of the younger islands, so there is not a lot of wildlife on it, but it is supposedly the most photographed of the islands with Pinnacle Rock being the choice for postcards. To tell the truth, I don't think I've ever seen a picture of it. Also, for you movie buffs, it is the island used in the movie "Master and Commander." I´ll have to watch the movie sometime and see if I recognize things.

The climb up those 367 steps was brutal for me. About 3/4 of the way up, Val told me that I could wait where I was because we would be coming back the same way, but I was bound and determined to make it to the top and let me tell you, it was worth the effort. The view was gorgeous. And I have photographic proof of that and the fact that I made it.

Everyone thinks that going down is easier than going up, but it's just as hard, in a different way. The stairs were uneven and I couldn't get into a rhythm going down. But in the end I made it, with everyone waiting patiently for me.

We got back in the dinghy and rode around Pinnacle Rock in search of penguins. We actually saw 3 of them, which, according to our guide is a good haul. Back to the yacht for snacks and drinks and then some of us went back to Las Bachas beach. I waded in the water for a while and we were visited by a couple of sealions.

Lunch on the yacht, then ride back to Santa Cruz. Sea was very choppy and the ride back was not fun at all. Bus ride across the island then the ferry and hike to the hotel.

Tomorrow is going to be another early/long day. We leave at 6:45 for a visit to the Darwin Research center, then on to the airport for our flight to Guayaquil. That means, trek to the pier, ferry across the channel, bus ride to the center, back on the bus to the north end of the island, then ferry to Baltra Island and bus to the airport.....

Well, it´s dinner time and I'm being a bit rude by not being at table, so more at some point. That may not be until Monday in Miami, or Tuesday when I get home.

Advertisement



25th October 2009

Proof
The only way that you have proof that you made it to the top is if there are pictures with you in them. Otherwise, you have proof that your camera made it to the top . . . . On the other hand, I trust you.
25th October 2009

Darwin Research Center
Take good notes Mindy at the Darwin Center. Can you please lay out a paper on natural selection and evolution?
25th October 2009

Natural Selection
Sorry, I'm out of school, so I refuse to write a paper. Go look it up on wikipedia.
25th October 2009

Proof
If I say I have proot that I made it to the top, you may take my word that I will be in the picture.

Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb