Quito Part II


Advertisement
South America
October 16th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Quito - BasilicaQuito - BasilicaQuito - Basilica

View from the top
Along with my Spanish lessons (so much information and I'm definitely not a natural with languages!) I've been visiting the old town a few times. I visited the Monastery of Santa Catalina were I had a guided tour - definitely the most gruesome pictures I've ever seen in a religous place - jesus bleeding and sheep drinking his blood and various depictions of hell!

I also went to the Basillica where I climbed up the towers which involved walking along a wooden bridge inside the roof and then climbing up steep staircases and numerous ladders - not for the faint hearted. There were amazing views from the top and a cafe in one of the towers were I had my first try of coca tea (supposed to be good for altitude sickness).

With some other students and teachers from the Spanish school we went to visit El Panecillo a small hill near the old town which is topped with a statue of La Virgin de Quito. In the afternoon a couple of us went to visit Mitad del Mundo (the equator) where we visited both sites (the one where they originally thought the equator was and the real one). There was a good museum where we had a tour and were shown how the water went down the plug holes in different directions on either side of the equator and were also told it is the easiest place to balance an egg on a nail.

The next day we had another "school trip" to the teleferico, a cable car which took us above Quito for more breathtaking views.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Quito - BasilicaQuito - Basilica
Quito - Basilica

Walking the plank!
Mitad del MundoMitad del Mundo
Mitad del Mundo

Either side of the equator
Mitad del MundoMitad del Mundo
Mitad del Mundo

Balancing the egg


3rd November 2009

Get the habit
I'm pleased to see that you're continuing to visit places of religious significance From Someone in Ireland

Tot: 1.354s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb