Medellin


Advertisement
South America
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I started having mixed feeling as my one year adventure across Latin America approached but I was determined to make it worthwhile. Packing was a b**** as I had problem fitting everything I wanted in a 50 litres backpack, anyways I ended up with a 40 pounds backpack and a 20 pound hand language.

I became anxious once my Copa Airline flight landed in Medellin - I started asking myself why I didn't familiarize myself with the currency or why I didn't polish the little Spanish I knew. The taxi driver the hostel arranged for me took mi to a casa de cambio to change my money to pesos - we chatted the whole 45minutes to the hostal and he commended me on my Spanish speaking skills . The hostel - Hostal Tamarindo has a tranquillo sense to it and a cool English speaking Colombian-American owner - Natalie. However I wasn't too thrill about sharing the room with 9 other people but oh well! The room is spacious though with 5 bunk bed, a big window, clean bathroom and a outside patio.

Once I put my stuff away, I decided to go for a walk around the neighborhood -El Problado in Zona Rosa. It's pretty with a lot of outdoor cafes, I went to the talked about park- Parque LLeras but I was not too impressed - maybe because I was expecting it to be like Parque Central in Xela, Guatemala, but it was much smaller and lacked the charming feeling of parque central. I found another park - Parque Problado - it was much bigger than the previous but still lacked the charming feeling I was looking for and is surrounded by a very busy road. Anyways, I got lost walking back to the hostal, so I took a taxi .

So far, I love it here in Medellin especially because I have been able to blend in (there is no shortage of morenos in this town - unlike in Xela). People dnt stare at me or ask to take a picture of me cuz its their first time seeing one. Also Medellin is very modernized - I still feel like I'm in the States cuz I can find everything here. Oh - they recycle here, in the hostals, parks, street - there is a recycle bin - Que Bueno!
Well, I start Spanish classes at Universidad EAFIT on Thursday and hopefully homestay on Friday - am looking forward to both....Until then....



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



4th September 2009

Re; Hostel
ls not dat bad as one wld imagine without d pics

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb