Adios Kosovo, Hola Venezuela


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Anzoátegui
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Almost a month ago, I arrived in Venezuela to start a new teaching adventure. Like Kosovo, I was not quite sure what to expect, though I did feel better prepared, having had extensive communication with the school since I got hired in February. It was made pretty clear before we even left Miami that I was once again heading to a country where time was more of a suggestion than something to be rigiorously followed since our flight left about an hour late (and subsequesnt flights that I have taken have all been delayed in some way, shape, or form). I knew that this would be the case before I left, and so was not surprised. Our principal was waiting for us at the airport, and when we arrived in Anaco, the school looked like it had in the video I had been sent, so I felt even better about my choice in school. There are iguanas, mosquitoes, geckos, and tons of birds that love to start "singing" about 5 minutes before my alarm goes off.

I was not prepared for several things. 1. The driving. As our principal says, the rules of the road are not really rules, they are just guidelines. Red lights are only obeyed if there are other vehicles coming across the lane. Seatbelts are not used, and pretty much anything goes. Crossing the road as a pedestrian can be quite an experience. 2. The rain. On some level, I knew it would be rainy, but I was not prepared for the intensity or the suddenness with which the rain can come down. It has rained so hard a few times when I am teaching that I cannot hear nor be heard above the pounding of the rain. The rain also just kind of appears out of clear skies - no warning. The lightning, however, is fantastic and can sometimes even be seen at night when there is no rain.

So far, things are going well, and I am enjoying being in a smaller city and in a place where I understand most of what is being said to me, even if my Spanish isn't up to responding quite yet. Local food - all of it fried - has been both eaten and made (one of the local teachers is teaching us how to make traditional Venezuelan food). The mercado (open air market) has been explored, and I have been successful in buying fruit and veg there two Saturdays in a row. More to come when we start traveling!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb