Another Uneventful Weekend


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Andean » Mérida
October 8th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pabellon CriolloPabellon CriolloPabellon Criollo

Pronounced "Pabeyion Crioyo. This is what Venezuelans consider the "dish" of Venezuela. It consists of Carne Mechada, rice, fried plantains, black beans, and a fried egg. It was a delicious meal!
This past weekend passed fairly uneventful, but I haven't updated my blog in a couple of weeks so I wanted to write. I haven't been traveling at all really since my last adventure. Homework, tests, and presentations are keeping me planted here at "home" in Merida. Which is cool because I learn more and more about the city every week. There is always someone staying here with me and we always find some way to entertain ourselves. This usually involves going to new restaurants or clubs. One of my favorite places to go is a place called Sushi Tei. It's expensive for a restaurant here in Merida, but cheap when you look at it on the exchange rate. You can go and eat a LOT of sushi, drink a few glasses of wine, and have a GREAT time and get REALLY good service for about 50,000 bolivares. Sounds like a lot I know...but on the exchange rate, it's about $14.50. When you consider that you're getting sushi...and really high quality sushi at that, that's really cheap!

A group of us are heading to Caracas tomorrow night and we'll be there until some time Sunday afternoon. I'm really stoked because that
Venezuela Size-itVenezuela Size-itVenezuela Size-it

Everything is tiny here! These are the coffee cups we drink out of at my house. Can you see how tiny it is compared to my hand?
means that I'll get to see some of my old friends! We're taking a Buscama at 9pm from the bus terminal in Merida and should arrive at the terminal in Caracas at about 7am Friday morning. This out to be an interesting adventure. The buscamas (translated to bus beds) are double-decker buses that have seats that recline into "beds". We'll see how much sleep we actually get. I'm glad we're going to be traveling at night because for one, we can sleep and not waste daylight hours, and two, we won't be able to see the cliffs that we'll be hanging off of. You can all wait anxiously for my post-Caracas entry (or not...I know you have lives 😉.

I've posted some random pics that I've taken over the last few weeks. None of them would really work as one single entry, so I decided to mix them. Too bad I don't have pictures of the Sushi...it rains so much here that I don't often have my camera with me. Love you all! Hope everything is going well back in the states. Can't say that I'm ready to be back there with ya though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My roommate the dare-devil!My roommate the dare-devil!
My roommate the dare-devil!

Yup, she's brave....she pierced her tongue here in Merida. It's super cheap. Coming soon....I'll have pictures of my piercing. Can you guess where it is?
A Pentecostal ChurchA Pentecostal Church
A Pentecostal Church

I was walking past on a Sunday night, and there were actually people at church. So, I stopped to watch for a few minutes. Kinda reminded me of home.
I love Orchids!I love Orchids!
I love Orchids!

Another beautiful orchid that bloomed in the garden below my house.
Coffee BeansCoffee Beans
Coffee Beans

My host mom showed me that we have a coffee plant outside of our house. They look really different when they're fresh!
Avocado aka AguacateAvocado aka Aguacate
Avocado aka Aguacate

We also have an avocado tree outside of our house...go figure! They don't look anything like the avocados back home though. Gotta love the tropics!
Gustavo and Juan DiegoGustavo and Juan Diego
Gustavo and Juan Diego

Two of the kids who are always at VENUSA. They're my "nephews" because I'm going to marry their uncle "Chino" and we're going to have 10 children. Don't worry Mama....it's just a joke!


10th October 2007

Interesting
Hey girl! Everything is going well here in leesville. Everyone is doing well for the most part. They all ask about you always. I was talking to Rachel about you just yesterday actually and was telling her about how I keep up with you to a degree on here. she said to tell you hi and she missed you and loved you. She's excited about the baby... of course. LoL Anyway, I loved these pictures. That is so neat that they have a Pentecostal Church there and that you found it... maybe you could go visit sometime *hint hint* lol Anyway, glad things are going well and I hope you have a fun and safe trip to Caracas and I don't have a life so I will be anxioiusly awaiting your post entry lol... I would never be able to take that ride knowing I am hanging off of a cliff and can't see where I'm going... no way no how... guess that's why you are in Venezuela and I am still in little bittie ole' Leesville. LoL I don't even wanna begin to guess wehre you piercing is... lol will wait till you post the picture to pass out lol. Ok girl, talk to ya later. Have fun and be GOOD...if u can manage!!!! Love and prayers going your way. Gayla
11th October 2007

pics
LOVE the pics(AND the narrative!) The colors are clean and vibrant. Venezuela seems a VERY desirable locale indeed!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb