Escape from the skyscrapers, unexpected Uruguay!


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
October 30th 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Not really planned, but I thought about it. And after being a week in the big city Buenos Aires I wanted some peace and nature. A boat ride to Uruguay will bring me that: Colonia del Sacramento. This is a really sweet, quiet, cobbled street town. Some people from the hostel joined me, 3 from the UK went with me for a week and some did a day trip. The boat trip was a bit boring. Just before we left BA we stood on the deck, and looked down in the water and what did we see....: heaps of condoms! We found a cute little hostel where we stayed for 2 nights. The Uruguayan wine was not the best. We did some bike rides around the town and towards beaches. Really relaxing!

After 2 nights we went to Punta del Este thinking that would be a nice stop over before going to Punta del Diablo, boy we were wrong. Full of skyscrapers, full of (now empty) hotels, expensive and ugly. Totally not worth it. What gave us a giggle was a clothing store named 'Tits Outlet'.

We hurried after one night to Punta del Diablo, this was just absolutely great!! Colourful fisher town, no tourists, stayed in a little thatched roof cabaña/ 007. I fell asleep with the sound of the ocean. Woke up once in time to see the actual sunrise, including 2 dolphins playing in the waves. A sea lion during the day, dead sharks caught by fishermen and a pet dog. Did a 5 hour beach hike our pet dog even came along. She went everywhere we went, even to the beach. I got stung by something, I don't know what stung me I only found the stinger in my thumb. My hand swell up as if I doubled my weight and gave me an annoying itch. Punta del Diablo rocks! Travelled back to BA in one day with a beautiful sunset as a reward on the boat back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb