Colonia


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
January 18th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I walked around Colonia. Dave and I got here yesterday (the 18th) via COT autobus out of Punta del Este. COT has very safe and comfortable buses. Colonia is a small historic little town. It reminds me of St Augustine Florida with its cobblestone streets, ice cream shops, great food, tons of seafood, its a port with a marina as well. The beaches here are ok. The water is at the outlet of the delta, so its a little murky not to mention a green alge floating on top of the water. Went swimming in it anyway because it was so damn hot. At 5 and 6 in the afternoon, it felt like 90 degrees on the beach. The sun dropped and cluds moved in and cooled the city of Colonia down. Colonia is for older generations, but it has really been a great place to relax after the barrage of Punta Del Este.

Its 5 o clock and I seen the entire city and had lunch and a beer. Its a small town. Sorry for the lack of pictures, but I do not have my cord to upload my pictures with me on the trip to uruguay. David is still with me. We did our own thing today just to have a little freedom. Tommorrow (saturday) we leave to go back to Buenos Aires. My birthday is monday and I am working on getting people I met in hostels and people I met from Buenos Aires together. Should promise to be a fun time. We have fallen into an amazing group of Buenos Aires friends.

Must dos in Colonia
Eat Lunch near the marina or water front
Go to the top of the lighthouse or Caro for less than $1 USD
Walk entire historic district
Live music at night, find it
Shoot some pool for less than $1 USD a game
Sit in the main park and enjoy the day
Stay at Hostel (Hotel Colonial)/ great common areas, plenty of showers

chau (not adios in argentina)



Advertisement



19th January 2007

Wish I was there...
Sounds like fun. Don't forget to send your big sis a postcard. Love, A

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb