Looking Back...(5/5) Uruguay


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
November 7th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Looking back (5/5) Two days in Uruguay

I booked my ticket for the boat leaving Buenos Aires to Colonia (Uruguay) when one of my classes was cancelled and spent two days in the quiet country of Uruguay.

After a pleasant morning boat ride, I arrived in the charming city of Colonia. As soon as I landed I knew I was in a different country: drivers stopped to let me cross the streets! After recovering from my amazement, I headed for the old neighbourhood of Colonia where I spent the entire afternoon enjoying the calm atmosphere, traditional architecture and colourful landscape. It was a true pleasure to walk slowly throughout the old streets...

That same afternoon I left by bus for Montevideo; the bus ride was extremely pleasant as the road was lined with palm trees and immense green fields. Entering the capital, I could feel once again, a sense of order and organization, feeling that I have never experienced in Buenos Aires.

The next day was spent visiting the city and observing its interesting architecture; the calm atmosphere and the smiling people made my day in Montevideo a pleasant adventure. When talking to the Uruguyans, they quickly reminded me how different they were from Argentineans and how proud they were of this difference! It is important to remember that since the conflict of the "papelera" (pulp mill), there is an increasing tension between the two countries.

I left Uruguay at the end of the day remembering how relaxing was this adventure and how different it was from Argentina despite their geographic proximity.




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



28th January 2007

Great photos
Hello my dear... your photographs are wonderful. I especially like the park one with the big urn and the path.. take more photos! love Annette

Tot: 0.524s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.4237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb