Uruguay - Partying at the beach resort of Punta del Este


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Este
February 5th 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have now arrived in the third country on my trip - Uruguay!I decided to head back down south to this tiny little country nestled between Argentina and Brazil, as it is renowned for having the best party scene in South America - they call it the St Tropez of the south!Having had a relaxing few weeks in Brazil, I am ready to party again!

After a 23 hour bus trip from Curitiba (surprisingly comfortable and didnt actually seem too long!) I arrived in Punta in the small hours of Sat morning. After having been in Brazil, where everything is so huge and miles apart, it was nice to arrive in a town so small i could easily walk the 300 meters to my hostel from the bus station!Yet again I´ve had great luck with my hostel - having been recommeded by my friend Rubens from BA, who stayed here a few weeks ago - the 1949 hostel has a perfect location right on the beach, a great bar, fun atmosphere and most importantly, great people. Im staying in a room with 2 Swedish girls - Maria and Sanna, and Alex from the US. They´re all lovely girls, and since my first morning we´ve spent every day at the beach together, admiring the view of hot lifeguards, and every evening partying at the hostel then heading out to enjoy Punta´s famous nightlife!There´s loads of Ozzies here also, and we´re hanging out with a great bunch of guys - I´m loving the beach life and Uruguay is such a fun friendly place with lots of beautiful people, although the scenery doesnt quite match that of Brazil, but the nightlife makes up for it!

It was lovely to spend a week here just chilling on Bikini beach, hanging out with great people at a fab hostel, and having fun partying!Many funny stories to tell from Punta...my favourite moment was discovering the walrus´s washed up on the beach at night - i drunkenly tried to give one a hug as i was missing my dog Ben, only for it to lunge at me with its huge teeth!Luckily my friend Matt was there to pull me out of harm´s way, and take a classic shot of me looking absolutely terrified next to this huge beast!One piece of advice tho...dont go to Punta in Feb - its a great party place during high season ie Jan, but by the time we got there, the hotspots at Barra were dead - we were the only people there!However, still had great fun at one of my favourite destinations so far...

Thanks to Maria, Sanna, Alex, Matt, the 2 German Chris´s, Tomasz and Dominic who made my time here so muc fun...beijo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Chilling at the hostelChilling at the hostel
Chilling at the hostel

Me, Tomasz, Maria, Alex and Sanna
Me and my friend the walrus!Me and my friend the walrus!
Me and my friend the walrus!

how terrified was I!


28th February 2007

hi
Hi: being from uruguay, your post was very funny. You were lucky with the sea lion, they can get pretty ugly those fat bastards, jajaj. Let me tell you something, you and your friends are hot, bad luck I wasn´t in Punta for that weekend, jajaja. anyway, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay in Uruguay. next time you should come to visit Montevideo. I would be happy to show you arround. bye

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb