Disappointing Diablo


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Diablo
March 28th 2009
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ArtigasArtigasArtigas

A shrine to the national hero sits on the rock at the edge of the harbour
I made a day trip to Punta del Diablo which is fishing village continually recommended in the travel books. My advice, if you are touring this area and have to make choices what to see, I would give this place a miss. Perhaps the problem is that I am from Nova Scotia and have visited many beautiful fishing villages? Perhaps it was the three hour bus ride to a destination 100 kms away? Perhaps it was off season and this particular village suffered from lack of tourists?
When I arrived in the village centre I wondered which way to go to see the rustic beauty. For several hours I went in all directions and did not find anything noteworthy. There is Artigas´s statute in a white shine on the rocks. The rocks are similar to the ones around Halifax and Peggy´s Cove but have more potassium crystals. Some cottages had philosophical phrases painted on them. There were a few shops open near the beach, but most of the staff looked depressed, especially when only three tourists got off the bus that morning.
I had stingray for lunch. The waiter described it as the thing that killed Steve from Australia. Not too
RestaurantRestaurantRestaurant

A Russian salad is potato salad here with lots of carrots.
bad, a bit stringy but tasty with lemon. Later I got a Russian salad that was potato salad.
I went to the beaches on each side of the village, then walked to the back where there was a trail to Santa Teresa National park. I did not have time to get there and back to catch my bus. I ended up sitting at a taco stand near bus stop chatting with a traveler from Austria. She too was disappointed with the village but she found a good hostel and stayed two nights. I was happy to get on the bus back to Paloma.
Tomorrow I will catch bus and ferry to Buenos Aires.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

WavesWaves
Waves

I tried to understand the tourist attraction here. Maybe things are brighter in season?
Beach viewBeach view
Beach view

Looking towards village, boats and rocks
No TouristsNo Tourists
No Tourists

All but two of the shops along the pier were closed. Nothing unique for sale
PhilosophyPhilosophy
Philosophy

Must be a neighbourhood program to generate interest
PotasiumPotasium
Potasium

Some rocks were almost pink with the K crystals.
WeatheredWeathered
Weathered

The cottages were not holding up as well as the rocks.
DeckDeck
Deck

Trying for that artsy shot of second beach (to right of village)
Garbage HorseGarbage Horse
Garbage Horse

Throughout Uruguay cart and horses seem to be the way garbage is picked up (even in Montevideo)
ClosedClosed
Closed

Families must be home for school and work
WhiteWhite
White

The school uniforms in Uruguay are white with black bows. I wonder how the parents keep them clean.


Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb