Why Uraguay?


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

With all that South America has to offer the traveller as a continent, it might not be the case that Uraguay is going to be an instant "must do" But it was part of my GAP tour itinerary so here are my thoughts on what i did and saw, the main point being it´s always rather fun to visit a country you know little about and never thought you would visit. In fact the thing I know about Uraguay is that despite having less than 4 million of a population, they´ve won one more World Cup than England, and okay two more than Scotland.

We were dumped off the nightbus in Argentina at a layby, but a fleet of taxis ushered us to the border, I still despair at the ignorance regarding stopping distance that is the norm in South America! First stop was a day in Salto. Salto is so laid back it´s somewhere impossible to feel any stress whatsoever, not so for me as I got furious to the extreme with the ATM, until that is I found out I was failing to enter my PIN number when requested, ah well.

Most of the day was taken up at the town´s Spa, lots of hot pools etc to burn in, and I indulged in a ´silk massage´ The key part of this is being covered in white stuff and paper with towels on top then falling asleep while it dries, then you get rubdown, well it makes you feel good afterwards.

Next day we took a 6 hour bus to the capital Montevideo. I guess Montevideo is a great city to shop and get things done and have a wander with new found GAP pals, it won´t blow your head off, there is a definate feel of a town that had a glourious past and is now several steps down the world city ladder. Still it has a certain charm. We found a superb live music bar and a few wonderfull moments I took the mike with the band to sing a sectio of Bohemian Rhapsody.

After 2 nights in Montevideo it was another bus ride to the Port of Colonia, Colonia is all about old world Colonial charm in abundance, it´s streets are made to wander or if you´re into such gimmicks, you can go round on a golf buggy. Having forgot to bring my drivers license on this trip, I sniffy declined a lift, it´s driver or nothing with me. A restfullnight in Colonia and then down to catch the ferry over the River Plate to Buenos Aires. One warning for those enterning Uraguay, make sure you get a white bit of paper, they dont always remember on the little borders. If you don´t get one, politely argue that you were not give one, avoid paying a fine if you can, we did.

So yes I doubt many people will make a beeline for Uragauy, butthe food is generous, the people pleasant and if it´s on your route worth a look.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb