Photos from Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
November 13th 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lima is brutal. Rough. Dirty. If you're not worried about having your bag ripped off your shoulders then you're certain you'll fall into one of the millions of giant potholes. The pollution is unlike anything I've ever experienced. I could just taste the fumes. Its enough to make you feel lightheaded just taking a walk.

Lima is typically the gateway to Cuzco though which is the gateway to Machu Picchu. Machu Picchu is just as amazing as you'd think it would be. Wear sunscreen though and slather on the bug spray.

I'd been dreaming about Machu Picchu for years and it was truly fabulous but the best part of my trip to Peru was meeting Kecia. We actually met in a bar in the Miami airport. And, really, aren't those the best places to meet people? We were fast friends after we learned we were on the same trip to Peru. We spent two weeks glued to each other. Its one of those friendships where it just feels like you've known each other since you were twelve. Its been one year since we met in Peru and barely a day goes by where we're not in touch somehow.

Kecia lives in Seattle and I was fortunate enough to visit her there in June. So, I love Kecia too.

Don't tell Sarah.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I'll always remember her.I'll always remember her.
I'll always remember her.

Her name was Andrea too. I was practicing my Spanish on her.
Andrea, its a lamp shade!Andrea, its a lamp shade!
Andrea, its a lamp shade!

I thought it was a hat but was informed otherwise.
Yet another "please hold my baby for photo!"Yet another "please hold my baby for photo!"
Yet another "please hold my baby for photo!"

This is the absolute biggest one year old I've ever held.
I Don't Wanna Kiss a Llama!I Don't Wanna Kiss a Llama!
I Don't Wanna Kiss a Llama!

I got a little too close to this llama. He locked eyes with me, flung his head around and spit at me.


27th November 2010

Deja Vu?
Yee-haaa! Fun Blog Andrea! Looks like you were kicking your heels up like a llama! Love the pictures. Nice job.
4th December 2010

I'm so jealous, I want to go to Machu Picchu
Great blog & awesome pictures, I'm hoping to visit Peru next year & was going to spend some time in Lima but don't think I'll bother now.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb