Back to Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
March 13th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola a todos!!!

So last night I left Ayacucho. It was a little sad since I have had 2 amazing months there. Going to volunteer in Ayacucho has definitely been the highlight of my Peru experience. Yesterday at FINCA they even had a little going away party for me. It was cute.
The 9 1/2 hour bus ride was a little rough, but I caught up on sleep at my new house in Lima. I'm still trying to figure out if I will be able to go back to Ayacucho in two weeks for Semana Santa (from what I hear, it sounds like the biggest Easter celebration anyone will ever see).

I found out this morning that I have 12 roommates (from all over the world); 2 from France, 1 from Argentina, 1 from Belgium, 1 from Switzerland, 1 from Canada, 2 from Korea, 1 from Germany, and 2 from Peru. It should be interesting. It is super hot and humid here (around 80 or 90 today), which I don't mind at all. I think that this semester will be a lot more enjoyable than last semester since my Spanish has gotten so much better, I know more people,
team "Intigas"team "Intigas"team "Intigas"

their mascot is a propane task because their sponsor is a gas company (intigas).
and I can get around a lot easier. It feels nice to be back to civilization with all of my stuff, all of the current movies that have come out (I went to the movie pirate this morning), and cold coke zero at any store I go to. It is also very nice to come home to cockroaches and mold instead of scorpions (I was really getting sick of finding scorpions in my room in Ayacucho). School starts Monday, which is weird since all of you guys are almost on spring break. I am planning on taking Photography, Peru in Modern Times, and a Linguistics class. I'm hoping this semester will be a breeze. I will continue volunteering at FINCA in their national office here in Lima and am trying to find a place where I can teach English to make some extra cash (I'm already way over budget...oops).

This is my new address:

Megan Schmitz
Jr. Baca Flor 368
Magdalena del Mar
Lima 17
Peru

Any packages or mail are always much appreciated!

Enjoy the warmer weather I've heard you guys are having up there!

Love,
Megan


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

it was pretty hot.it was pretty hot.
it was pretty hot.

this shot made it on national peruvian television apparently. haha.
fun weekend activityfun weekend activity
fun weekend activity

included cross rivers, killer dogs, running from wild bulls, crossing through target practice at an army base, and scaling a cactus filled mountain.


14th March 2010

Love ya Megan!
Hi Megan, I am glad to get your address. I talked to your Dad this morning. Told him I wanted to send you a birthday card. I will have some special things waiting for you when you get back home. Love your blog. Looks like you get along very well there in Peru. Grandpa and I both send our love! Grandma
15th March 2010

Great pictures! How nice that FINCA gave you a going away party. You look tan. We're in the 40s here. The snow is all gone and the birds are singing. Miss you! Love, Aunt Carol

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb