Still in Pucallpa Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ucayali » Pucallpa
May 13th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I guess its been about 2 weeks since I´ve been here in Pucallpa. The weather is mild, mostly cloudy...but when the sun is out it gets very hot. I guess I am getting use to the heat. I have been waiting for the past few days to visit the other lodges that Pablo is building...deeper in the jungle, farther away from civilization.

Well, I finally got a chance, and half-way through the ride, I was regretting it. I was sitting in the backseat of a Nissan 4x4 pickup truck with 3 other people. My head was hitting the roof because I am so tall, and every time we hit a bump, I jammed my neck...and my leg started going to sleep, my arm was bashing into the door, and the "oh crap handle" was missing so I didn't have much to steady myself with. This boxing match went on for about 3 hours...on a very rough, dusty dirt road.

After what seemed like forever, we reached the quiet jungle property; the nearest city was 3 hours away....After walking for a few minutes we entered out of the jungle into a clearing the size of a football stadium. In the center of the clearing was 1 huge circular hut that could house, I'm guessing, about 40 people in hammocks. Still to complete is one more large circular hut, two outhouses, a kitchen, and drilling a well for fresh water.

The entire place was so peaceful....on the ride out to the new lodges, it looked as if I were passing through the Garden of Eden. Small curious black monkeys in the distant trees, butterflies with such vibrant colors, a few locals with small plots of land, oh yea, and a few mosquitoes.

So, whats next for me here in Peru? I had a little more ayahuasca a few days ago...with some Peruvian guy from Lima. He didn't seem to enjoy it as much as I did. Everyone´s body reacts differently...luckily It doesn't make me feel too sick. It would be nice If I could communicate better because I have a lot of questions. I am picking up a few new words in Spanish each day, and I am able to get by just fine with what little I know.

I am still working on gaining new wisdom and understandings about life. I feel that life is short and I need to get some clarity before its all over. For some reason, living off of society's, and other people´s views doesn't work for me like it does for so many other people. I have always been very curious (just ask my mother)....and because of this, I am questioning everything. I feel like I am undoing 28 years of what society has programed me into. What will be left of "Joel"...what new places will life take me to...and will I ever return to the US?....Only time will tell. Maybe I will write a book!

Thank you for your emails and check back here later for new photos>!......


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



13th May 2006

fricken' awesome
I really like the photos, you really capture some awesome images. Send more!
14th May 2006

Wowie kazowie
Wow Joel......beautiful world. Life IS short and its important to learn about you and who you are and who you may chose to become. There's so much out here in the world to experience and to grow from....its what you can give to the world that will define you....sounds like you have a great many opportunities to help people out there....the best exercise for the heart is to bend down and help someone up!! Take care of your health and what the heck was that episode of smoking or drinking something and then having hallucinations or something?? I don't think you need that to find yourself so.....just keep taking cool pics and do what you can while you are there to help those around you!! take care jolie!! not jolley ya know its joelee!! love sheila
14th May 2006

A thought or two....
Laughter is the voice of a smile. A smiling heart is the caretaker of friendship's garden. When we are ready to listen with our heart, we are transformed. Today is God's gift to us...that is why it is called the "present". Lots of love, Grandma and Grandpa
15th May 2006

thoughts of Joel
Good to see your new comments my friend. I think of you so much and hope your experiences in Peru are all that you hoped it would be. Stay safe and "sound" and keep the Journals coming when you have time. Love from Oregon
15th May 2006

GLAD TO HEAR YOU ARE PURSUING YOUR VISION. SORRY THAT YOU NON HEIGHT CHALLENGED ONES HAD A ROUGH RIDE TO THE JUNGLE. WE VERTICALLY CHALLENGED ONES HAVE TO GET SOME BENEFIT. WRITE WHEN YOUR VISION CLLEARS. MARI
17th May 2006

Su viaje
Hola Joel, Estamos bien y nos encantamos con los fotos tan maravillosos. Gracias que los hayas enviado. No creiamos que los colores podrian ser tan hermosos. Parece que te estas divetiendo y los lugares alli son muy interesante. ?Vives cerca de la selva o el bosque, y que tal la comida? Nos esperamos que nos mandaras otras noticias y mas fotos. Pon cuidado y que te via bien. (Perdon, no se pueden poner las markas de acento en esta computadora ) !Hasta la proxima!
22nd May 2006

Lotsa love and reiki to you. mwa
28th May 2006

Nice to heard from you !
I am often thinking of the choice of your new way.. and I hope you could return on a smooth path ..soon after all the experiences you decided to go throught will be finish.. Irma send me a word last week. You are in our thoughts. Love from your french grand'ma !!
31st May 2006

I'm Checking Up on You
It's a strange world isn't it? You sent me some cards to say thank you for pointing out a computer glitch and I looked at your site. So now I see you've done it sold everything and gone to Puru. I have added you to my blog so I can check on you often. In my opinion you've found yourself, you are wherever you are and whatever you are doing. The more the challenge the better. visit me sometime much further North. http://cabinfeverinalaska.blogspot.com/
23rd June 2006

hey cousin
Good to hear you're having the adventure of a lifetime. My 2 years in Samoa definitely broadened my horizons. You really can't begin to understand life until you've seen it from another peoples' eyes. Being submerged in another culture will definitely open your eyes and things like individualism and money definitely become less and less appealing, or even neccessary. Stay safe and keep learning. I'm getting married in November but if you won't be back you can just send us a couple bottles of ayahuasca. just kidding.

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb