To Pucallpa on the road less traveled


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ucayali » Pucallpa
April 28th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spiderman VS Roach'motelSpiderman VS Roach'motelSpiderman VS Roach'motel

This is in my bedroom in Pucallpa. Its nice to know that my room is being watched while I am in town for the day.
I wanted to drive during the coolest part of the day, so I decided to get a collectivo (car ride, s.45) from Tingo Maria to Pucallpa, a six hour ride by car or 11 hr ride by bus. I woke up at 3:30am to catch my ride at 4am which was ready and waiting for me ON TIME!! And we were off into the darkness of the thin morning air. With no street lights on the dark mountain roads we swerved several times just missing a dog, and children going to school in the early morning. Soon the sun came up and I witnessed the most beautiful jungle landscape, with waterfalls, and colorful birds everywhere. Then the heat began to set in, and we came to a road-block, then another, and another...There are a lot of landslides and a never-ending amount of road work to be done on the roadways. Our 6 hour trip quickly turned into 7, then 8, then after 9 hours we were in Pucallpa.

Pucallpa is a crowded, busy city but still seems quite small compared to Lima. It definitely does not have the friendly charm that Huañuco and Tingo Maria had. People are nice but
Road to PucallpaRoad to PucallpaRoad to Pucallpa

Closed for 1 hour. We waited for the road to be cleared, and played cards.
things seem a little more fast paced; so many moto-caros buzzing everywhere- there are thousands of them. Not a tourist destination like the other popular places in Peru.

I found a moto-car to drive me to Pablo´s house where I waited for his son to arrive. As it turns out his son has a lodge on the outskirts of town, and NOT an apartment, like I thought. Well, I guess I should go check it out. We drove about 10 minutes down a flooded muddy road, and when we got to the end we parked. Juan, Pablo´s son, led me to a tall wooden gate that was locked. We entered paradise. It looked like untouched jungle besides a wooden walkway through the swampy marsh. After walking for a few minutes we reached another locked gate. This is Pucallpa´s little secret, a little hideaway from the noisy, boom'box sounds of downtown.

Lush tropical plants, birds, flowers, butterflies, walking-stick insects, and a few friendly spiders that aren´t too friendly with the roaches (see photo). This entire place is not being used by other people right now so I have it all to myself. It´s a little lonely and challenging at
Jungle LodgeJungle LodgeJungle Lodge

Home sweet home
times. I just want to turn on a TV, Listen to a radio, plug into the internet, call someone on the phone, watch a movie, drink myself silly...J-k. But there are no distractions, just like I had hoped for. Its Just my self in nature.

I might be helping out with English lessons in the near future, after I get settled into this new lifestyle. I also want to take some art classes at Pablo's School. I purchased some art supplies that I still need to drop off at the school. I think the next few weeks are going to be interesting.

I hope you enjoy the photos as they took several hours to upload. Also check the previous posting for new pics...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Living Room ViewLiving Room View
Living Room View

Hallway leading to the living room-ceremony room, at dawn.
Pucallpa and the AmazonPucallpa and the Amazon
Pucallpa and the Amazon

Waterfront with boats going downriver to Iquitos, and daily market.
Leaf CuttersLeaf Cutters
Leaf Cutters

Yes, I have leaf cutting ants hard at work, walking accross my path to the bathroom every night.
Jungle PathJungle Path
Jungle Path

The wooden path into the jungle which leads to my new home. I get to clear the spiderwebs with my face each day as I go for a morning walk.
Tingo Maria to PucallpaTingo Maria to Pucallpa
Tingo Maria to Pucallpa

Beautiful jungle mist in the early morning on the way to Pucallpa
The Kitchen-Laundry RoomThe Kitchen-Laundry Room
The Kitchen-Laundry Room

Rustic, rusty kitchen. Complete with gas stove, fridge, and a few bugs and mosquitos. There is an area to do clothes washing (by hand) out back.
Butterfly HeavenButterfly Heaven
Butterfly Heaven

This is the Yami butterfly that follows me around all day.


1st May 2006

Sweet
Awesome pictures - I was worried it was going to be all 8-legged sheep, ants nests and corpses! Can't wait to see and hear more about Peru!
1st May 2006

It is all falling into place.
I am glad you were able to connect so well with your new teacher's son and the village. It looks like the adventure will be most inspiring not just to your art but to you as an old soul. much love, wish we were there. mari and eeva
1st May 2006

hey jungle man!
Glad you've settled into what looks like the idyllic place for you. Love the pictures and narratives of your travels so far. Interesting tidbits of the local flavor. Seth and I are trying to figure out how we can get down there to visit you. My friend Penny is in Bolivia and we'd love to visit her too in one big trip. Will be interested to see how your art develops with your travels too! Take care and don't get eaten by ants!
2nd May 2006

thank you
Thank you for taking the time to post such beautiful pictures and share your adventure. It is a joy to see the nature photos and hear about your experiences.
2nd May 2006

well well,,, i dont know what to say.. that all seems so wonderful..
2nd May 2006

You finally made it!
I'm glad things are unfolding nicely for you. It's fun to live vicariously thru your experiences. It must be beautiful and serene living in the jungle! Keep sending those pix-and don't go barefoot in the night :) Love, Mom
2nd May 2006

Que chevere
Hola Joel. De ahora en adelante mis mensajes van a ser en espanol para que sigas con la practica. Que fotos tan hermosas!! Hasta me estan dando ganas a mi de ir a Peru. Me alegra que te estes adaptando bien a tu nuevo hogar. Siguenos contando de tus aventuras, siempre me alegra tener mensajes tuyos! Pensandote mucho, Gayle y Bartolo
2nd May 2006

Safe arrival
Happy to hear you arrived at your destination safely. This is like having my own step by step travel log of Brazil. Please continue to keep us posted.
2nd May 2006

Dagoba
After reading your post I just started craving Dagoba's chocolate from Tingo Maria. I began my search for it at grocery stores as a small attempt to connect to your experience there! Well I couldn't find it at whole foods but found some other chocolate to appease me. I am sooo happy my butterfly friend is watching over you, greeting you, and sending you my love on your journey. It made my day. :) lotsa love Irma

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb