Only 2 things smell of fish...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Tumbes » Punta Sal
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Up early this morning for Steve, Ross and myself to go out on a fishing trip with one of the locals. The sea was so rough though that we all thought we might capsize at any time.

Once we got further out though, it calmed down and we got down to business. From memory, I think Ross caught 3 big ones and a small one, Steve caught 3 small ones, and I caught just the one medium sized one. However, I did catch possibly the biggest fish in the world at one point, but it bit the line in 2 and escaped before I could get it aboard. Ross also caught an eel, which the fisherman then proceeded to beat with a big stick on the basis that they have sharp teeth. So did David Bowie before he had surgery, I doubt he would have got the same treatment.

Back on shore, we were shown how to gut and scale the fish before we stuck them in the hotel fridge to have for dinner.

The afternoon was spent lazing about again, though we did manage a few games of beach volleyball which I was surprisingly good at. I was especially adept at diving aimlessly about on the sand.

That evening, we ate our fish, which was pretty nice, though a bit metallic after Billy decided not to oil the tin foil before cooking them. The one I caught tasted the nicest though, even if I do say so myself.

Advertisement



17th November 2007

Your fingers are made for volleyball peachy

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb