Mancora


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
May 9th 2014
Published: May 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hola from Peru!!!!

Finding a computer to actually write a post is starting to become more difficult. The hostels I have stayed in so far have no compuers or only one computer so it can be hard to find the time to write my blog. Found an internet cafe today to catch up on my blogs on an old style computer with sticky keyboard keys! As I am usually catching up on blogs, I tend to forget to write some stuff down so I have remembered a couple of previous bus journeys that I wanted to tell you about.

On my way back to Quito in Ecuador, returning from the jungle, the bus stopped part way. On walked a guy in an army uniform, said something in Spanish and some people started to walk off. Not everyone, so I stayed on. I was the only white face on the bus and it seemed no one spoke a word of English. The guy sitting next to me said something in Spanish and pointed towards the door. I said no comprendo (I don´t understand) and remained sat down. He then started saying passport, passport which made me very confused as I knew I wouldn´t be crossing any boarders so I didn't move. The army guy then came up to me and pointed out of the door. I asked hablas Ingles? and he said no, so I thought I had better just walk off the bus. I made sure I had all of my hand luggage with me, as South America seems to be famous for its stealing of bags on buses. I then approached a desk and I was asked for my passport (in Spanish of course). I handed it over and the officer was asking me more questions (in Spanish). I said no espanol but he kept on repeating the questions. I had a peep over to his papers that he was filling in and tried to guess the questions. One word they could say was Where? I thought where what and then realised that maybe they are asking for where I live. I told him England and to my surprise...he did not understand. I looked at his form to just check that he definitely meant which country and I could see there was a big list of countries, mainly Columbia. The guy that was sat on the bus was stood with me and asked Where? I said England and he told them Ingleterre...maybe I should have learnt the name of my country in Spanish at least, but then again I´ve learnt a new word. Yay! He gave me back my passport and I got back on the bus. No idea why I had to give my passport details. Oh well.

On my next bus journey from Banos to Guayaquil,where I was catching my bus to Mancora, the bus stopped in the night. On walked an army guy and I thought...I know what to do this time, picked up my bags and walked off the bus (Yes I was the only white face on the bus again). A guy that was also sat on the bus stopped me and started saying something in Spanish. No compendo! He said no, no, hombre, hombre and pointed to himself. Hombre...I know this word. Man! I looked over at the que forming outside the bus and realised everyone in the que was a man. I started laughing to myself and pointed at myself and then the que and said I don't que up, only hombre? He said no and smiled back at me. I got back on the bus...all the women looking at me. I just laughed at smiled to myself. I'm starting to realise these bus jouneys are going to eventful with my near to no understanding of Spanish!!

On the way to Mancora, Peru from Guayaquil, Ecuador, I had to make a boarder crossing. I wasn't quite sure what to expect and everytime the bus stopped I was unsure if we were at the boarder. At one point, nearly the whole bus got off.I panicked and said to the bus driver, ¨boarder, do I get off?¨ and he said something back to me in Spanish. I didn´t hear him say no and he wasn´t pointing out of the bus so I remained sat down. The bus started up again and the bus filled up again with people. The next stop, I knew we were somewhere important. A big, new, white building stood before me. We all piled off and joined the que. It was warm and the que did not seem to be moving! Two hours it took me to get my passport stamped. I had to go through the EXIT( Salida) Ecuador side then rejoin a new line and go through the ENTER Peru side. Not a white face in sight so I spent the two hours pretty much in silence with some people trying to speak to me, me apologising once again that I don´t know any spanish. An old guy did try to make more conversation with some pointing, nodding, smiling, huffing. I think he was trying to complain about how long we were waiting and the people pushing into the que. Si, Si and lots of smiles from me back. At this point, I was feeling like the rudest person ever! I know no Spanish and I have some lovely people trying to talk to me! I must return with a bit more knowledge of the Spanish language!

18.5 hours later I finally made it to Mancora and I was exhausted! I went to the shop to buy some water, tried to read my book and fell straight to sleep at 7pm! The next morning, I got up early and chatted to some people that had just arrived. In the corner of my eye, I recognised a face. It was a Swedish guy, Constantine, that I had met in the jungle in Ecuador. A nice surprise to see a friendly face. We chatted round the pool for a while which was really nice, especially after my bus journey without chatting properly to anyone! An Isreali guy, Gal, joined us and I went out for lunch with him later. He was telling me about the war in Isreal and how it is compulsory to do service in the army, even women. That was really interesting to talk about and I got more of an understanding of the conflicts both Isreal and Palestine are facing. He was very good not to force his views on me and was kind when I asked him questions without making me feel stupid. A german girl joined us that he knew and we decided to go to the mud baths.

We got in a tuk tuk (no I´m not in Asia they actually have tuk tuks here!!!) and spent a half an hour on a deserted, rocky track to the mud baths...or as we soon realised when we made it- the mud bath, singular. We got in and the water was really warm.On one part of the water hole in the desert, bubbles were forming on the surface and at the other end was a pipe where the water exited. Water was constantly entering the pool. When I was in Fiji, I went to a mud bath and as soon as you walked in you could feel the mud under your feet. Here it was gravel and you had to search for the mud. That was fun! Finally we found two places where you had to dig right down, face under the water, and pick up the mud. Soon, we had enough to spread over our bodies and let the mud dry in the sun. My body has had a good detox over the last few days with the hot pools in Banos too! We got back in the pool and washed the mud off.

Back at the hostel, I met two Dutch girls that had just arrived. I arranged to go for dinner with them and they told me about a popular Peruvian dish, Ceviche. Ceviche is a fish dish where the fish is not cooked in heat but cooked in lime juice. I had heard about this in Fiji too but had never tried it so was keen to try it here. It was nice, a little tangy from the lime juice but I don´t think it agreed with my tummy as had diarrhea all night. Great! Maybe I won´t have ceviche again.

The next day I just relaxed and waited for my bus to Lima...another long bus journey.

One thing I love about my travels is meeting so many different people from around the world that I wouldn´t usually meet. I am starting to meet some challenges in South America, think it´s going to make me stronger in the art of mime, and also help me learn a few more new words in Spanish.

Adios!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb