Lifes a beach


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
August 8th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the 22h bus from Cusco to Lima, I decided that actually I fancied a few days on the beach, rather thasn in the mountains of Huaraz. This was quite a big descision in some respects, as it required a bit of rearranging. More than that, instead of another 8h bus, it meant that I had to get a 15h bus, followed by another 3 h colective taxi - so including transfer times, I was travelling for 42h by bus. This was not good.

Needless to say, attempts at conversation with me towards the end were met with monosyllabic answers or a smile that didn't touch my eyes.

However, at the end of it was Mancora, Peru's best beach. I am spending a few days here now, r&r before I head into the Amazon. It is amazing and exactly what I wanted - great sand, great sea, great people, great pool and of course, great sea food.

After my arduous journey, it was the latter that I decided I deserved, and so splashed out in a big way. I speant 4pounds50 on what looked to me to be one of the best things on the menu - grilled sea bass, with rice and spicy praws, and a cold beer. I was sat on the balcony of a resturant overlooking one of the busier areas of the beach, counting the number of kite surfers in the water (about 18) and watching the surfers ride in on green crested waves. The sun sparkled the water, and my meal came whilst I was beginning to feel incredibly mellow.
The prawns were not quite tiger in size, but the tails were bigger than my thumb - and I have pretty big thumbs! The sauce was so creamy, and the spice not too strong - the combination made for one of the, if not The, best meals I have had here.

I look forwards to sampling some more over the next few days!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb