Peru....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos
February 5th 2012
Published: February 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Amazonia!!!!Amazonia!!!!Amazonia!!!!

Needed that after that boat ride!!
So after a 12 hour up river speedboat journey where the boat was packed and I had an isle seat with chance of pics...





I arrived in Iquitos to a SWARM of taxi drivers who would not leave me alone lol, all I wanted was a Cig and stand for 5 minutes! Nevertheless I picked one guy who would not let me out of his sight and we hopped in his motored rickshaw and headed to an ATM then to the hostel ( The Flying Dog ). It is very cheap to take taxi's here and the town looked like it died maybe 150 years ago it was a boom town, but now it is pretty dead. I got to the hostel and immediately felt good vibes, the manager Marcel is a cool guy who will help you with anything you want to know or do. For the first time in my traveling experiences I booked a private room for myself to take a hot shower and lay down in peace.

My Laptop hard drive was failing, hence why these blogs are so late but wanted to wait until I got to Lima to see if I could replace it, but for now in Iquitos for 2 days there's not much to do, just walk around town, People watch on the Malecon, go take some pics in the shanty town of Belem or whatever. I chose the latter, one of the owners of the Flying Dog Chain came to see how it was going and actually threw a free Pisco Sour party at the hostel which was cool, most of the people staying there were pretty cool and we all had a good time, it was more of a transit place for travelers to go up or down river basically so I didn't take but a couple pics.



The last night I was there I went to the store to see if I could find ingredients to make some good pasta I haven't had in a year or so....Score!!



That's about it from Iquitos, I fly to Lima and see what that's all about ......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb