La Selva (The Jungle)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos » Amazon Rainforest
October 17th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

ButterflyButterflyButterfly

Butterfly
I spent about a week in the Amazon jungle and it was a pretty amazing place. I had very nice accommodation considering it's the jungle. There were flush toilets, cold showers, meals prepared, and even laundry service! Though no electricity, no internet... which was good... but fortunately I still had my iPod! I couldn't have survived without listening to some of the music I love.

In the clearings I saw countless butterflies and a variety of other creatures. In the jungle, it was a bit darker and, being non-native, I was kinda scared of just about everything around me. At one point there was a huge track of ants on the trail for about 100 meters. Others were bitten, but I was spared. Here are some pics of what I saw.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

DragonflyDragonfly
Dragonfly

dragonfly
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
PlantPlant
Plant

Plant with an interesting blossom
Itaya RiverItaya River
Itaya River

Housing along the Itaya River
Itaya RiverItaya River
Itaya River

Housing along the Itaya River
Itaya RiverItaya River
Itaya River

Itaya River
PhasmatodeaPhasmatodea
Phasmatodea

Walking stick
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
ToadToad
Toad

Toad
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
SnakeSnake
Snake

A grey-ish snake with a light green underbelly
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly (or wasp?)
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

Butterfly
BeeBee
Bee

A bee of some kind. Seems different than what I'm used to.
PhasmatodeasPhasmatodeas
Phasmatodeas

Two walking sticks together!
GrasshopperGrasshopper
Grasshopper

Grasshopper
CreatureCreature
Creature

Not sure what this is! Scary looking tho.
WaspsWasps
Wasps

Wasps


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb