Last day in the jungle


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos » Amazon Rainforest
June 15th 2009
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Video comes to the JungleVideo comes to the JungleVideo comes to the Jungle

Okay, it's probably not the first time these kids have seen themselves on video, but they sure acted like it. They found to get their faces in the video and then fought to see themselves when I turned the camera around so they could see.
Just have time for some quick notes about yesterday’s excursions. I had a great time visiting the local villages - especially Segundo’s home on the other side of the river. I felt like the Pied Pier of Hamlin. Once they got over their intial shyness, kids in both villages followed me around and had a great time seeing themselves on videotape. I spent several hours playing with them.

Today we’ll visit a local school in the morning, return for lunch, then catch a boat back to Iquitos. Hopefully, I’ll be at the hotel by late afternoon and can get a nice, hotel shower.

I wish I had spent more time writing each day, but I plan to catch up once I get back to the city. I’ve got a lot of photos and tons of video, though I’m really nervous about how much I can edit into something acceptable for the rest of you to see. This has been a phenomenal trip and there’s still a lot more to come!

Advertisement



17th June 2009

Teacher, teacher
Phil, Once a teacher....always a teacher. Phyllis

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb