At last...the Amazon Rainforest!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos » Amazon Rainforest
June 12th 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Relaxing in the JungleRelaxing in the JungleRelaxing in the Jungle

A heavy downpour "forced" me to take refuge in this hammock.
Well, this rainforest adventure has begun and I’m making this latest report from 50 miles downriver from Iquitos about a mile back in the jungle from the Amazon River.

I got up early after finally sleeping five hours following 43 hours without a wink of sleep. Explorama arrived about 15 minutes early - unheard of in Peru - and it turned out that my guide is Segundo, the same man that I was with four years ago.

The trip down the Amazon was faster than I remembered which was good because I kept trying to nap all the way here. Did see one good omen. Just as we were about to enter the Amazon from the Rio Itaya, a pink dolphin surfaced just a few meters away.

We dropped a lot of passengers off at the Ceiba Tops Lodge, Explorama’s upscale (and air-conditioned) resort in the jungle. Only one group of four women and I came the rest of the way to the Lodge on the Yanamomo River.

As on my last trip, we had a long wait with nothing to do before lunch. Now we are waiting for our first excursion at 2:30 when we will take a boat and explore a neighboring oxbow lake to look for wildlife. A nice rain shower cooled things off this morning, but it’s heating up and that, combined with the oppressive humidity, is going to make it a bit uncomfortable, though I’m certain the excitement of going out into the jungle will make me forget any difficulties.

Since it gets dark here early and there’s not much else to do, I’ll have time to do more reporting later this evening and will try to upload a lot more photos.


Advertisement



17th June 2009

Lazy!
You had better relax now for I will not let you when we get back to school.....Antwon is YOURS. Phyllis

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb