From St Martin Sint Maarten to Callao Peru through the Panama Channel


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » San Isidro
August 15th 2013
Published: August 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have just retired from 40 years of continuous work and decided that was time to fulfill my dreams of cruising the World, for that effect I have bought a Leopard 46 Catamaran In St Martin, where it is being up dated, I have bought a new chart plotter a Garmin 5212 and also a Garmin radar which I consider is the best safety equipment that we can have aboard to prevent us from colliding with other ships during a night shift or in a foggy day where the visibility is almost 0.

I will start the first leg of my cruise the 13th of September accompanied with my son Andres 35 years old and a Peruvian hired deck man to help us out.

We have a lot of experience in sailing because we had a lighting in which we did many fishing excursion in many occasions going out at about 20 miles of the Peruvian coasts of Pucusana, to fish Dorados as we call them here and Mahi Mahi as they are called in the Caribbean, big golden and green fish that are delightful to fish because the are very fast and strong and sometimes they only surrender after a 20 minutes fight, and when they are brought aboard they come out of the water in a beautiful golden and blue colors that they loose as soon as they die.

We have also owned a J 24 sail boat with whom we raced many years in Peru and once we also raced in the J24 world championship finishing 8th of a very large fleet that I presume the fleet was of about 40 boats. but that I another story

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb