Homeward bound


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » San Isidro
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I am finally back where it all began 3 weeks ago - in Lima city.

Yesterday I enjoyed more of Arequipa and spent some time at the huge San Catalina Monastery as well as just relaxing on the roof terrace of the hostel reading. I am on holiday, after all!

Last night I had dinner at a Turkish cafe and got talking to a German couple who had just arrived in Peru a couple of days ago, also on a 3 week holiday. As we chatted and I advised them on the various cities and options I realised that I had become the same person I met in my first few days out here, offering all the tips on where to stay, where to eat and whether to spend 1 day or 2 in various locations. It's not that I've done any more than scratch the surface here at all, but I have done the usual Gringo route which most tourists do and in that respect I have become knowledgable.

With that in mind, it now feels like the right time to head home. Having 'cheated' and taken a flight back from Arequipa I avoided the 18 hour bus journey. I am staying tonight at a sterile, westernised hotel with a bath, hairdryer and cable tv so I can fully relax and prepare for tomorrow's flight. I'm in San Isidro and there's not much to see so I will just enjoy my last night of pure selfishness and have a long soak in the tub.

I fly at 2.30pm tomorrow from Lima to Panama, then Panama to Amsterdam, and hopefully arrive in Leeds from there before 5pm on Saturday. I've very excited about coming home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb