Quick Notes on the Way to Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Paragliders over the Lima CoastlineParagliders over the Lima CoastlineParagliders over the Lima Coastline

I snapped this photo with my trusty point-and-shoot. The view as the sun faded into the horizon was absolutely fantastic. Even the locals were out in force to see it.
I'm back in the airport. It's 4:22 and I've been up for about two hours now. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep, but in about three hours I'll be in the Inca capital of Cusco. I have been extremely lazt the last couple of days and last night discovered why. I've come down with a pretty nasty little cold -- sore throat, congestion and some sneezy, and feeling really tired.

I'm a little better after drinking some orange juice here in the airport Starbucks, but I need to sleep and get some rest to be ready for the next six days -- especially a very busy two days at Machu Picchu. Being without internet access in the hotel has been a pain, too, but that's one little incovenience I can deal with.

Late yesterday afternoon I took advantage of a little sunshine that creeped through the ever-present clouds that hang over Lima all winter. I had a feeling that the setting sun would provide some lovely golden color for some beach and cliff shots over the Pacific. Little did I know that it would give me some gorgeous sunset views looking down the beach from atop the
Paragliders over the PacificParagliders over the PacificParagliders over the Pacific

Couldn't get much prettier than last night watching the setting sun from above the Pacific on the Miraflores' cliff tops.
cliffs as paragliders soared overhead.

The Inti Raymi celebration is building up to a climax on Tuesday (when I'll be at Machu Picchu). I've heard the colorful events int eh plaza are pretty good so I'm getting more and more excited as it gets closer.

More from Cusco later today...



Advertisement



21st June 2009

Gorgeous
The pictures are absolutely gorgeous...it must be the camera and not the operator! :) Phyllis

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb