Final Days in Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

It feels like it has been a while since Ive had the chance to sit down at the computer and reflect on my trip. I have also been seriously falling behind in my journal writting, so hopefully in the next couple of days Ill be able to catch up.

Yesterday I went to my placement early in the morning as usual. So far every morning this week I havebeen working doing laundry at Mother Theresa's. We wash everything by hand and then rinse it in three different buckets of water. Then we ring it out and hang it out to dry. We wash everything with cold water because there is no running hot water. We were big approns and rubber boots and once in a while we have to stand in the basins and wash the clothes with our feet. The first day I got absolutely soaked because I definitely didn't have the 'how to stay dry' strategy down. I had to spend the rest of the morning in wet, cold clothes and as I result I am now have a cold. This hasn't been to bad so far, and thanfully i packed lots of meds, I just feel a little more tired. Im going to try and get some good sleeps in the upcoming nights so that I'll be up and running again for Chile.

Otherwise, I'm said that tomorrow is my second last day at my placement. Everyone at Mother Theresa's has been so nice and so welcoming, it's hard to believe that it flew by so fast. I'm definitely going to miss all the people that I've met while on the trip as well. We have a goodbye dinner planned for tomorrow night at a restaurant called Rosanautica. It's right on the pacific ocean and is supposed to have some of the best food in Lima. I can't wait. I'm not sure how many more eggs I can eat. The other day the vegetarian option for dinner was an omelette, and as I was eating it I realised I had eaten eggs at breakfast, lunch, and was now eating them for dinner. Hopefully I don't have cholesterol problems when I get home.

Also, yesterday we went and walked around one of the nicer areas in Lima, called Miraflores. We went to a park called 'parque del l'amor'. It was right on the water with big mosaic walls with different love saying in spanish. My friend Margaret and I were trying to figure out what all of them said. On our way home in the cab, our driver asked us here we were from. When Margaret said she was from the US, he started laughing. In contrast, my experience this entire trip has been that when I tell someone that I am Canadian they respond with a smile and say 'Ahhhhhh! Canada!'. For someone reason the Peruvians really like Canada. They talk about the mountains, the railroad, and especially Toronto. Thought any future Canadian travellers to Peru would be interested to know that you would be extremely welcome here...

The last two days have also been extremely educational. Yesterday we had a guest speaker who is a professor here in Peru. He talked about the Trust Commission that has been attempting to bring about justice here in Peru after 20 years of violence. It was really interesting to here him speak about the current political issues here in Peru. This afternoon we went to see some ruins here in Lima and followed this up with a guest speaker who writes for the Economist. He talked about economic and cultural issues here in Peru. This has been one of the best parts about my whole experience here. I really feel like I have gotten to know a lot more about the culture and about the current issues than I would have every been able to learn by simply being a tourist. I feel like I have so much more to learn when I get home.

Well everyone I am off to bed early (try to get rid of this cold). Love you and I'll be home in 10 sleeps.

Nicole/Pokey
xo


Advertisement



21st August 2008

protests
hi Poke, Good thing the jungle is so far away! I am afraid that the aboriginals wold have a new "guerrilla" recruit. xo love M.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb