Hola!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Everyone!

I arrived safely to Lima on saturday after a pretty uneventful flight. I was actually pretty pleasantly surprised to find out that the flights that were not supposed to have any meals at all in fact had two meals. The theme of eating my way around south america has begun.
Saturday night I was picked up by Jorge a super nice driver from CCS. He didn´t speak any english, and given the state of my spanish, we had an interesting ride. I managed to tell him I thought he was a good driver, which he thought was halarious (the driving in Peru is completely psycho). On sunday we spent the day touring around Lima a little bit. I went to the museum of the inquisition (spaniards are ass holes). We also went to Place des Armas which is where the Peruvian president lives. That was also pretty cool. Yesterday I also ate ice cream twice (once from Hembos the Peruvian version of McDonalds) and once in Miraflores the Yorkville of Lima. Needless to say, the second was much better than the first.
Lima is definitely a lot safer than I thought it was going to be. We take taxis everywhere which is pretty convenient. Everything here is also dirt cheap, including taxis. A 45 minute taxi costs 3 Canadian dollars....insane.
One thing I have noticed about Lima is that the difference between the rich and the poor areas is HUGE. Where I go for my placement versus where we went for ice cream (where there are escalators down to the water) are like two different worlds.
About my placement...Today was my first day at Mother Theresa´s. When they said it was the hospice for the destitute, they weren´t joking. All in all today was a really tough morning. I would say the second longest four hours of my life. All of the children are severely disabled. There are disabilities that I have never ever seen in my entire life, and that I´m pretty sure may not exist in areas where there is health care and early intervention. Today is cloudy and cold, and the mini depression has set in.
Thankfully I have an awesome roomate and everyone else in the programs is amazing. Four girls from California who are super cool (they are from San Diego, and thus have told them I want to live where they live). The food so far has been okay....massive lack of fibre. I am on my way to buy some all bran after the internet cafe.

Also, I have found a buddy to go to Machu Pichu with. Margaret (my law school roomie from NJ) and I are going to head out next weekend. Should be pretty awesome.

Well family and friends, I love you all very very much and miss you all!
I wish I knew spanish better than I do because I make a fool out of myself daily. Today I was learning shapes and colours with a little girl at Mother Theresa´s, and she was the one teaching me. Some help I am.
Also, I haven´t managed to learn the holy mary in espanol yet....but I´m sure it will come.

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Nicole/Pokey
xo

ps. there is someone barfing in the bathroom at the cafe...so that is why this is kind of cut short...I am about to gag. Viva Peru!


Advertisement



12th August 2008

hi
Hello Pokey, I was so happy to hear from you and to know that all is well. I am so proud of you! You have quite a learning curve going on! needless to say we never stop learning! May you continue to experience many blessings as you endeavour to do God's work in our needy world. Love and prayers, Mom

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb