Not just the Incas could build.....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » La Libertad » Trujillo
June 30th 2008
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A little summary from the northern part of Peru

Huacas del Sol y de la Luna


The northern part of Peru has been a home for many different civilizations stretching about 5000 years back in time. Around Trujillo you can find archaeological places and remains from the Chimu people and Moche culture as the two biggest ones.
After I changed my plans and decided to go to Galapagos, I had some time during that day to visit Huacas del Sol y de la Luna, which is two big temples build by the Moche people.
Huaca del Sol is the largest structure in Peru, from the Pre-Colombian time.
The temples was built by using around 140 million bricks. It´s two impressive constructions and I had a guided tour in Huacas de la Luna (in Spanish...!). This temple is actually several temples build upon each other, and they also made paintings and figures on the walls.

Huanchaco


I planned to spend a couple of days in this beach resort with the famous "Sea-cowboys". But after two hours on the beach, watching the fishermen I was kind of finished with what I came for. And since the weather was not ideally for sun bathing, I went back to Trujillo.
The reason these fishermen are famous is mainly because of their boats. They are all handmade, and they use reed to make these narrow boats. The men sit with their feet on each side of the boat, and surf/paddle the boats like cowboys. That´s the origin of the nickname of the boats; "little horses"
Each boat only lasts for a few months before they get waterlogged, and they have to build a new one.

Mancora


On my way back from Guayaquil I stopped for one day in Mancore due to a bit of logistic problems. It was better to take a day here than stay in Guayaquil for a night and catch a direct bus from there to Lima. So I arrived in Mancora 3 am, and spend the day there until my next nightbus to Lima at 5.30 pm. I´m a master on nightbusses now ; )
Mancora is THE beachresort in Peru. It´s here the people with money in Peru gather in the summertime, along with a bunch of tourists. And it´s also one of the more popular surf spots. Eather here or in villages close to Mancora.
Since I didn´t really had much to do, I spent the day on the beach trying to get some tan before coming home ; )

I put out a few pics from Guayaquil as well, which I wrote about in the Galapagos entry


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb