Sao Paulo-Tujillo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » La Libertad » Trujillo
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey People

Had a shocking day yestarday, after talking to Aerolineas about my flights on the way into Sao Paulo and them assuring me that they were ok what happens when I go to check in. Naturally at the connecting flights in Buenos Aries dont connect by a matter of an hour. So insted of the 3 hour wait for my flight I am bumped onto Gol, Brazil's equivelent to Ryan Air, and fly direct to Lima arriving at 1am. Once again flight takes off 2 hours late, after a 10 hour wait at Sao Paulo, and a 5 hour flight I finally arrive at Lima at 3am Yeah yeah.

At 1 pm I was booked onto the bus to get to Tujillo, the 600 km journey took a little under 9 hours but it was fair to say the scenery was amazing.

Between Lima and Tujillo on your left is the sea. Often pumping with unridden waves, it was hard to control myself. To the right is barrien desert, often dotted with dusty shanty towns. The kind you would see in old mexican movies, I have some photos of it so when I get the chance I will upload them. I have no idea how the people that live there can survive, with little in the way of industry and absolutly no farming it must be a hard existance.

I have been in Tujillo for just 1 night and have only had a small chance to have a look around, but Bruces organisation is located right in the center, and although simple is comfortable and I am sure once I settle in will be a great enjoyable opportunity.

O yeah I forgot, on my last day in Sao Paulo I got stopped in the street by a cop, I was thinking what the hell I did wrong, but as it turned out all he wanted was a chance to practise English. So he took me out to lunch at a local cafe. We started talking about cop stuff, and I was asking if he had been to the Favila's in Rio. Although he hadn't he said there was much worse in Sao Paulo and told me to keep an eye to the left on my way to the Airport.

As instructed I did, and along the way there are abandoned prisons, but what is worse is that squattors and gangs have moved into the old Prisons.

Yeah thats my last story,

take care and keep up the emailing,

Richard

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb