Canasta Queen


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

You're probably all expecting a nice, long blog about my adventures in Peru, but you're going to be sadly disappointed. I have to admit that I haven't had time to write one yet because I've kept a piece of Miami in my heart, and I've become addicted to Canasta. Okay, I didn't learn it in Miami; however, hearing the name "Canasta" reminds me of those leather skinned Floridians for some reason. Anyway, I decided that pictures will temporarily stave off your overwhelming thirst for the stories of my fabulous adventures (so kidding!).

Here are some photos from a visit to Torre Torre, a rock/land formation that looks eerily similar to Drumheller; some photos from the orphanage I'm spending my mornings at; some photos of Santiago dancers/musicians, who can be found dancing through the streets at random hours; and some random shots from the streets of Huancayo. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Torre Torre 3Torre Torre 3
Torre Torre 3

A fellow gringo spies my camera and sneaks in a wave.
Torre Torre 4Torre Torre 4
Torre Torre 4

For those of you who think that I've just stolen these pics and I'm actually in hiding in Canada, or in jail. ;)
Santiagos 3Santiagos 3
Santiagos 3

And the poor soul at the end who has to keep up with the dancers and hold this upsidedown harp thing!
The OrphanageThe Orphanage
The Orphanage

The one on the left is such a cutie. Despite the language barrier, she always gives me these shy little smiles.
The Orphanage 2The Orphanage 2
The Orphanage 2

The girls love getting their photos taken on digital cameras because they can see them right after the photo is taken.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb