In Huancayo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
August 4th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

I landed in Lima late last night and I'm still unsure about who i stayed the night with! I was picked up from the airport and taken to a very nice flat near by, shown to my room , woken up at 6am and told i was going on the bus!!

Lima was very interesting, especially the extreme contrast in wealth. There were huge colourful billboards in every direction standing directly above homeless women. Women were working on food stalls with their babies in prams, by their side and the driving standards ... were interesting!!


After a 7 hour bus journey I arrived in Huancayo, where i will be staying for the next four weeks. I didnĀ“t mind the long journey as the route was very scenic and i was able to see quite a bit of Peru straight away. The majority of people here are fully dependant on agriculture to live. Despite this pressure, they value family life very highly and seem to strike a healthy balance between working to provide for the family and spending time together. Many of these families live in very small houses without roofs or windows, yet they appear very happy and comfortable with this.

I am staying with a couple, their two children (aged 3 and 8) and their Dog. They are very welcoming and are going to show me around the town later on this evening. I think the method of washing clothes will take me a while to get used to... a sink and a brush....thankfully i brought a few sets of clothes!!!!

Got to be off now,
Will write again soon x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb