Believing in Something Bigger Than Yourself


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Celebrating SantiagoCelebrating SantiagoCelebrating Santiago

Everyday I hear Santiago music and see people dancing in their traditional clothes, in celebration of Santiago. The holiday honors the work of the farm animals and brings hope for another prosperous year.
First things first, this website´s server crashed (ho-hum). So my previous entries were lost. But we have today´s entry 😊

I climbed Huaytapallana! On Saturday we went on an excursion to climb the highest peak in the region (aka Huaytapallana). The most challenging aspect of the hike was the altitude (we reached the top at 15,660 feet). Every 3-4 steps had my heart racing. The scenery was spectacular (see pictures). And hiking in the Andes with its towering peaks made me realize how 'small'we really are.

Last week I began to visit Merarado. Merarado suffers from a rare, genetic skin disorder known as dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa. His skin is easily irriated and his body is covered with large opened blisters. The condition has also deteriated his hands. He cannot open his fingers, making it difficult to write and clean his wounds. So on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays we visit his home to clean his wounds and encourage family involvment in his care. The handicapped and those requiring ongoing medical care are often forgotten when there is a limited economic source. Those requiring treatment are seen more as a burden then a family member (I remembering seeing in Tanzania abandoned
Iscohuatiana StudentsIscohuatiana StudentsIscohuatiana Students

Students from Iscohuatiana. Because the village is so far away, these students have no school to attend. They are always very excited when we come.
handicapped children). What should be done with the ill is an ongoing question that all society´s are faced with. In Merarado´s situation, it is as if he is half part of society (he attends school) and half not (cannot play sports with his friends). It is almost as if his family ignores his condition and his classmates stand at a distance. For instance, last week two students at school wrote that Merarado was a monster in their notebooks.

Because no one has been cleaning his wounds, the blisters are larger and cover more of his body; thus leading to more pain. Honestly, I do not know how he sleeps. During one of my visits, Merarado shared that he loves to write poetry. In one of his poems, Merarado compares himself to an aging heartbeat. He writes, paraphrased; A body without feeling cannot live. And the body protects the heart. His heartbeat ages because his body cannot protect his heart.

Despite his circumstances Merarado has found comfort in bringing joy to others and believing in something bigger than himself. He has a resiliant, confident personality at 16 years of age. He has a cheerful disposition that spreads to others.
Huaytapallana ViewsHuaytapallana ViewsHuaytapallana Views

Checking out the views with Ely and Nilton
And ultimately his makes you believe in something bigger than yourself.

So in summary, I have been inspired!

Keeps the comments coming and I will post last weeks comments in the commentary! I hope you all had a chance to read my last entry on my struggles with time...till next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



6th August 2007

Last Blog´s Comments
31st July 2007 22:43 - Lisa: Cuy, Parades and disorganization - yup, you're in Peru! Sounds like you had a busy week! I spoke to Ely on Sunday and she told me about the parade. She said that PLE was the largest organization in the parade, with five schools represented. I am so proud of you guys! Mom and I really want to thank all the volunteers from around the world who go to PLE and help Ely and Nilton with their mission of increasing self-reliance, income and education in the remotest regions of the Andes. Karen, we especially thank you for helping us with "Mission Merardo," by taking him vitamins, medical supplies, etc., and helping Ely in her work with him. We are very excited at his progress. However, I read in your last blog that he has an appointment with surgeons. I spoke of this with Ely and reminded her that Merardo does not have a visit with Rotaplast this August. The medical director told us that his needs are beyond what they can do at a traveling clinic and that he would need more intensive interventions at a more permanent facility. He is not off their radar, tho. Dr. Capozzi has forwarded Merardo's photos and medical history to their staff dermatologist to see what interventions may be possible in the future. Our other beneficiary, Presli, does have an appointment in La Oroya next week (I can't believe it's here already!) and Ely will be gone with him for at least 5 days while the team evaluates him and perhaps begins his long road of reconstructive surgery. His story will break your heart. For anyone who has not already seen our website, please visit www.perudonations.org to find out about both Presli's and Merardo's stories and their needs. I need to update our website, and I will do so when I am done writing this hematology case study! But in the meantime, we are planning our second benefit concert and compilation CD release, both to occur on September 1. Wish us luck! Lisa Sturm 1st August 2007 01:44 - TC: How to clean the mud floor I think you clean the mud floor with that sprig of vegetable material that Vanessa has the death grip on. It looks like you guys probably already figured that out. T.C. 1st August 2007 01:57 - Tom: In Ireland the phrase was "ah, sure, what's a few hours between friends?" God, the Germans hated that. Bring back Aiden and Tommy a llama would ya? It's their favorite Ross Park exhibit, next to the Penguins (Your not going to the South Pole any time soon, are you?). 1st August 2007 17:31 - Julia: cuys? Hi Karen, Looks like you are enjoying yourself. I think the best way to clean a mud floor is, well, look at it.(?) Good question. I can just think of all the stunned faces - okaaaaaaayyyyyyyyy we have to make hats(?) and that was supposed to be before now. You know one great lesson for us (me) is that the rest of the world just doesn't beat to the same clock. What stress we create for ourselves. I have to say I like the 'before' pictures of the cuys rather than the 'after'. I can't believe it is already August. Everday I have to do something for school. I am glad the teachers are back - what was it like having them return? Did you talk to them? You seem to be wearing lighter clothing. Is it warmer now or are you getting more acclimated to the weather and altitude? So was the bread good? What else do you eat (like to eat)? Use any cipro (name, sp?) I love the one block parade - does the parade only go one way or do they turn and go back - in case someone missed it the first time? So when is the next holiday? Thanks for the journal and the pictures - Julia 1st August 2007 18:55 - Author Reply: Where in the World is Ms Doolittle: The parade only goes one way :) I love reading everyones comments. And to make it clear, we did not eat the cuy...I have had some stomach ills and almost used the cipro. Tom, I will try to bring back a llama. I did get to feed llamas and alpacas at the fair. FYI - we had a llama drawing competition last night. The American llama was a strong contender but the Spanish llama won (a volunteer from Spain drew his Spanish llama carrying Peruvian gold - a clear winner). TC - yes we finally figured out how to clean mud! 1st August 2007 19:02 - Author Reply: Where in the World is Ms Doolittle: Merarado I finally met Merardo on Monday...he is so INSPIRATIONAL!!!!! He his very appreciative of all the donations. He especially thanks you Lisa and Sheri. I am to visit him this afternoon and he is going to share his poetry, I cannot wait. On Monday I was able to give him the medical supplies, some peanut butter for caloric intake and we got the gauze off that was stuck inside his skin. He is so brave and his personality shines. Unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to meet Presli (I am not teaching in Anhuac). Count me in for a CD and let me know if you need any other photos. I have been more than impressed with Peru Luz de Esperanza.
6th August 2007

Pictures coming soon
I cannot add pictures from this internet cafe, so next time!
10th August 2007

wowza
Hi Karen..I am so interested in your work in Peru..it sounds as though Merardo has an organization that is sponsoring him. Are you traveling around or do you stay in one place..I am sure there is a part of you that wants to stay there..kids that want to get an educatiion is so great..after you return to the states I would like to talk to you..i may be going to Ecuador next year..so enjoy your time in Peru..can't wait to see the photos! vaya con dios..De

Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.2727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb