May I Have Your Attention Please


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After 4 days of unexpected travel 'blips' I have made it to Huancayo! Flashback recap: my flight was nearly cancelled, my luggage ended up missing, I spent hours trying to make one phone call to Huancayo, I had difficulties finding a bank that would accept travelers checks, there were transportation strikes - just to name a few 'blips'. It seems that almost every task that I attempt to complete is unsuccessful the first time. 😊
I had an interesting conversation with a fellow traveler about my experiences. He told me there is an expression in Bolivia; "A baby that does not cry, dies." His remarks had me speechless for a few moments. It did apply to my insignificant 'luggage missing' situation, but it also applies to many aspects of life. Those who are quiet, tend to be the ones that are ignored.
Peruvian culture appears to have adopted 'the expression'. Peruvians are extremely kind and friendly, yet they have this persistance about them. They are firm when they demand action to be taken. Noteworthy, when I was on the phone with the American Airlines representative about my luggage, he specifically instructed me to call back all the time. He said that would be the only way to get them to address the matter. Those who demand attention in Peru, get it.
In the past few days, many Peruvians have also been demanding attention. There was a country wide transportation strike on Wednesday and Thursday, and in Huancayo, there are further transportation strikes, as well as farmers and teachers striking. I am unclear about the details of both strikes. The strikes in Huancayo are having a lasting impact. The teachers have been protesting for over a month, so all the schools have been closed. Yesterday the farmers were very active. They stormed the streets with rocks and set up roadblocks. My ride home from the bus station to my volunteer home was a difficult one. The protestors were not visible but the entire community was out moving the miles of rocks. The transportation workers, teachers and farmers are definitely bringing attention to themselves.

And the stem starter for this entry (courtesy of Mr. Walls)
The toilets in Peru remind me of (this going to be lame) but home. I am excited to say the toilets are western! I even read your stem starter aloud in the Internet cafe, and uniamously, everyone around me (europeans) said home. With that said, the capitol of Peru, Lima was very Americanized. Within blocks of my hostal there was a McD´s, KFC, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, TGIF´s, Chilis to name a few. I must shamefully admit at this point that I partook in a coffee from Dunkin Donuts. And I even saw Harry Potter´s new movie, in English...I know 'muy mal!'

Keep those stem starters and commments coming. And I promise, if I can be more orginal with your stem starter Mr. Walls, I will write further.



Advertisement



15th July 2007

Hola
Hola Karen, Su vida en Peru es muy interesante! Que Bueno! Estoy feliz cuando leo su blog!!! No puedo esperar para su otra blog. Buenas suerte y tome muchos photographias.. Ciao, De
15th July 2007

accomodations
I am glad you are finally there. I think we probably went to the same Dunkin Donuts! It's a few blocks behind the Palacio, right? With an upstairs dining room? As for the toilets, they are western, but as you probably already know, most of them (public) are without seats and in many places you have to give an attendant a sol or two to buy toilet paper. Forget using a seat liner - there is nothing to put it on. Your quads will be quite strong after one month if you leave the house much! Please say HI to Ely et al for me. Tell them that my benefit concert is shaping up well. Every day some new good piece falls into place. Remind her also to take pix of the family and the students for my website. Hopefully, now that you are 'home' you won't have so many glitches. Ely will take good care of you every step! Aloha no, Lisa
16th July 2007

Oh how beautiful
I love your stories. Keep them coming. and the pictures are wonderful also. Question for ya.. with all the teachers on strike and no school.. what do the children do all day?? Also if you get any pictures of sunsets or aztec or mayan artifacts post them please... Enjoy your stay cause I will also from your blog site.. Tammy
18th July 2007

Bienvenida a Perú!!
Yeap...that deffinetly sounds like South America! haha. I hope they find your luggage (trust me, they always loose it, but they always give it back! haha). Y espero que te guste y disfrutes mucho de tu estadia en Perú! =) Saludos desde aquí!
20th July 2007

Hey, Dusty just wanted to tell you hi. He wants to know if they eat lots of turkey in Peru? :) Hope all is well and you are having fun!!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb