Estoy aqui...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all...
I am here in Peru! I wrote an entry a couple of days ago when I first got in...but it appears that it didn't get saved. Shucks.
So anyways...here's how it's been so far:
I traveled for about 26 hours or so that first day...flight got laid over in El Salvador. Slightly miserable. I would have been fine with it had I not had an incredibly bad cough...but I did. Of course I accidently put my inhaler in my checked bag to. Genius. Anyways, so the flights were not so good. I could not catch my breath at all-hacking and gagging constantly. The people on the plane absolutely hated me, but there was nothing I could do. Again, miserable. I did meet some people my age in El Salvador though-two girls from California that were incredibly sweet. We spent quite a bit of time together. There was also this boy named Jimmy that I just couldn't shake...for whatever reason he was really smitten and subsequently really annoying.
But then I got to Lima! There was someone to pick me up right on time, which was great. He brought his wife and nephew along with him-nicest people ever. Actually, I've found that most Peruvian people are really kind. Anyways, by the time I got to Peru I was absolutely exhausted. I mean, I had an adrenaline rush...but I was still coughing...and in shock. Lima...oh my gosh. I've never seen anything like it. So...poor. Busy, loud, dirty....but really fascinating. Anyways, the people that picked me up were so excited to have an American with them. They kept asking me questions about music and food and "do American girls really have 10 boyfriends at once?" Except it was all in Spanish of course...and concentrating on Spanish in a busy, loud place when I'm coughing and tired and slightly frightened was a little difficult.
The hostel I stayed in that night was awesome. The man who runs it is ABSOLUTELY the nicest man I've ever met. He was so concerned about my cough...kept pumping me with cocoa tea and fresh honey and wanted to take me to the doctor. He had this horrendous dog though...if you can even call it a dog. It was giant, and hairless, and half-dead. Slightly repulsive. There was also this little monkey. In a cage. I guess he was just hanging out.
The bus ride to Huancayo was absolutely beautiful. Breathtaking. Amazing. We passed all these little villages in the mountains...just little shacks...people hauling buckets of water. I couldn't believe it.
Hmm...I need to hurry up this entry. We're about to barbeque...
The other volunteers here are amazing. Some of the best people I've ever met. Most are from England, but there are some from Australia. One other girl from the US, who is shockingly cool.
I feel so close to them already...we go out to eat and drink, and hang out at night....I really love them.
Did I mention I'm still exhausted though?
Eeep, I need to go! But I haven't even started writing about the places I'm working...which is why I'm here. To sum it up quick: I know already that I most definitely will not be coming back as the same person. I am SO humbled. These people are SO POOR. I cannot even begin to express. Absolute poverty. I think it's rough here in my residence-not having running water some of the time and sleeping on a 50 year old cot in an old beat up house...but in comparison....nothing. The kids are amazing. Working with them, teaching with them, playing with them...the most rewarding experience I've ever had. They are covered in dirt, in ratty clothes, no parents, NO money-but yet they are the sweetest children I have ever met. They are so loving...they call me "profesora" and always kiss me on the cheek. I love them already. Thinking about leaving them in two months makes me want to cry. Really cry.
Anyways, I'll write later. Love to my family! I think about you all the time. And friends, if you are reading- love to you too.
So-I'm good! No worries. This is a completely different life....really roughing it. BUT, it is amazing.
I'll write more luego...
Again, love. A lot of love.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb