Receiving messages from the locals: the Nazca lines


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
December 20th 2015
Published: December 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today I saw the Nazca lines. Over 10 years ago after watching an episode of ancient aliens I knew I had to see these lines. Quite an auspicious beginning I know, as I completely understand that there are other things to see in Peru! The one thing that caught my attention and I knew I had to see these lines and I'm glad I did. It was a lot of work to get there. The lines are in the middle of nowhere, over 20 hours on a bus which seems easy but really when you're moving it about 80 kilometers an hour which is nothing in American miles. You do start to question yourself for 30 minute flight over the Nazca lines.

Created by the Nazca people these lines are most likely a means to communicate with each other or perhaps with their gods, as they can be seen from different valleys not necessarily just from the air. We took a little plane, tiny, there was only 6 of us and the pilot was very kind and make sure that we saw everything we could. We saw a whale which is super interesting because it's such a desert area. That's also part of the reason these lines were so well preserved is this desert landscape. The monkey was so cool and we could easily see the hummingbird the spider. I'm going to post some pictures and I hope you can see them in the pictures. Feeling better today I'm still a little sick but I will be getting on a plane and heading home here soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The WhaleThe Whale
The Whale

See it directly above the storm channel, in the center of the page.
These triangles...These triangles...
These triangles...

were a bit more common
AstronautAstronaut
Astronaut

You can see it on this pic the best - look on the mountain side.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb