Nazca Lines


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
June 29th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think it's the hummingbirdI think it's the hummingbirdI think it's the hummingbird

These are a nightmare to take which is why I bought postcards.
Nightmare journey to Nazca... I know I should arrive at 7am so ask to be told when we are there, the man in charge is the scary one from Live and Let Die so quite nervous. We stop for breakfast at 7am which confuses me so I ask how much further to Nazca, told only 15mins but we are stopping for a 45min breakfast! Finally back on the bus and ask again so the man knows where I want to get off. We only stop in dirt tracks so no town is ever seen, then after 20mins he comes in the main bus laughing as he forgot to tell me to get off!!! We are at one of the bus offices so the man there pays for a tuk tuk and then for the dodgy local combi bus service to take me back to Nazca. Now in a panic as it´s 10.30 and flights are mainly in the morning. So take the first flight on offer. $50 for a 4 man plane for 40mins flight over the lines. Wait in the office and watch a video about the lines and obviously the footy game.
The lines were supposedly created by Nazca people when the waters dried up, they thought walking the same path again and again would summon the water back to their town. No-one knows how they managed to create the patterns though and how they created symbols of things which they should not have ever seen e.g. a whale.
The flight is all over the place but excellent, the lines are amazing! I like the moneky best. Back to town after the tour guide crashes his car twice in the car park... quick lunch and shop then have to run to get the bus to Lima!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb