The mysterious lines of Nazca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
August 28th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The planeThe planeThe plane

Every Cessna I´ve seen or sat in in South America seems a bit bashed up. Atleast this one had its fuel gauges working!
We reached Nazca (the site of the world famous Nazca Lines) last night, and after fighting off the droves of touts outside the bus station managed to reach our hostel (just across the road) in one piece.

Since we had to be up early to see the lines tomorrow, we went to bed early after dinner and a game of Texas Holdem with borrowed matchsticks.

We booked our flight over the lines in a little Cessna through our hotel, Hostel Alegria for $45, including transport to the airfield and airport tax. There are some agencies who do it for $40 as well

The lines are massive trenches dug in the desert by an ancient civilisation who had to be pretty advanced to draw them, since they couldnt see what was being drawn (the images are only properly visible from the air). There is a lot of debate over what they were drawn for, from some claiming they are signs to aliens, and others arguing that they are sophisticated time-keeping devices.

There are images of a flamingo, parrot, an "astronaut", a tree, hands, and many others some of which are a couple of hundred metres in length.
My favourite - the astronautMy favourite - the astronautMy favourite - the astronaut

It was bloody hard getting a good picture with my massive camera in the tiny plane, with the pilot pulling 5g turns but this is the so-called astronaut, drawn on the side of a hill.

The flight was quite unnerving, with the pilot spending most of the time flying the plane on its sides, so we could see the lines clearly. He also didnt seem to be watching the air closely, I saw another plane pass by a bit too close than I think regulations allow. Also spent the flight praying the old lady behind me wouldnt be sick on me.

Anyway I´ll let the pictures speak for themselves.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The handsThe hands
The hands

...which I think look more like a headless chicken.
TrapezoidsTrapezoids
Trapezoids

These are supposed to be very cool, but I didnt really think so. They look sort of like landing strips, but aren´t.
TrapezoidsTrapezoids
Trapezoids

These are supposed to be very cool, but I didnt really think so. They look sort of like landing strips, but aren´t.
My favourite - the astronautMy favourite - the astronaut
My favourite - the astronaut

It was bloody hard getting a good picture with my massive camera in the tiny plane, with the pilot pulling 5g turns but this is the so-called astronaut, drawn on the side of a hill.
CondorCondor
Condor

I didn´t get a very good angle on this one, but its in the middle of the picture, towards the bottom. If you zoom in you can see a big bird like shape
The SpiderThe Spider
The Spider

Creepy and all
Another birdAnother bird
Another bird

Can´t remember which one this was. All the birds look the same to me, so I don´t know how people have decided what is what but anyway.
Another birdAnother bird
Another bird

Can´t remember which one this was. All the birds look the same to me, so I don´t know how people have decided what is what but anyway.
The parrotThe parrot
The parrot

The beak is pretty funky
Panamericana SurPanamericana Sur
Panamericana Sur

The highway from the air


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb