Canyoning


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
June 8th 2011
Published: June 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was an active day after two days of rest. I have been walking the streets of Cusco very unimpressed until yesterday. I found some areas of town that I really liked. I have been eating Lomo Saltado like most people breathe air. I think am putting on weight oddly enough...not that I am complaining.

Canyoning is basically repelling down waterfalls. The first drop was about 50 meters through a shoot that seemed stupid for a novice to attempt. I have done this before in Spain, but the cold water and the tight spaces were nowhere near as comfortable as my prior experience. I was with a Brit and an Israeli so it was a nice small group. One thing that I noticed was how comfortable I am climbing hills and rocks and I think that is in part due to living in the Asheville area...the is except when I stepped off the trail and about tumbled 20 or so meters. I also watched the guide drop a helmet down a 50 meter drop just to scare the group a bit.

All in all a great day and they are numbered...returning home early next week and really looking forward to it in some ways and in others not at all. I have missed my friends quite a bit on this adventure and moving so soon after I get back home really made me realize what a great group of friends I have made in Asheville. I hope finding such wonderful people is as easy as it has been for me over the last nine or so years. Enjoy the photos.

Since I have been so wordy in the last two, I will leave you with pictures but you have to scroll down to see the rest. It was a mix of repel, sliding down chutes, and jumping into holes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb