The Big Rock Candy Mountains


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
April 6th 2010
Published: April 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody,

Over the weekend we all went to see Machu Picchu taking a combination of trains, planes, autobuses, and walking. We met up with the Multi Country group who have just arrived from Buenos Aires, some fun people over there! Some don't speak much Spanish though.
Aguas Calientes was overpriced, better off eating the potatoes and cow hearts from the street vendors.


Cusco/Machu Picchu were worth seeing. If you're confident you can do everything very cheaply. Even the stones that I thought would be overhyped: no, they're amazing. Definitely need to return. Its kind of boring because the rocks don't really do much-they're just sort of there... but five years ago I never would have thought I would have lived long enough to such majesty, but also never thought of a lot of things (Sé La Vi 😊 The area is incredible, there are so many opportunites for hiking, rafting....its like the Smokeys in Español.

We went out for a night in Cusco to experience local drinks and food, it was not for me. Cuy was strange, you have to try most things and this is no exception, but it was weird. In our group of 8, 1 guy thought it was delicious, comparing it to squirell. It reminded me too much of Michelle and Jackie O, I miss them so much. Its been so long since I played sky rat with them 😞

I did not have a chance to connect with the drug smoking renegades who, in exchange for S./ put colorful string around your hair, but I am told they are inspirational. Maybe next time, but more than likely not.

The open markets of Cusco are terrifying. There are buckets of fish heads, severed lamb heads, various offal meats varying from the brightest reds to the most proud confederate grays, flies and various insects hover and land nonchalantly. There are mummified condors: we asked for what they are used: the man smiled and answered in Quechua. 20 kilo sacks of coca leaf are also for purchase, I don't know how much.

This weekend I will be going to the black market to pick up some essential books. I plan to hopefully introduce some of the people who have to tolerate me for the next few months. Maybe type more about the bizarre, sad, and heartwarming stories I hear about the streets of Lima. Maybe something unusual will happen.

Here when you need it least,
David

Advertisement



13th April 2010

fantastic.
I've always wanted to see Machu Picchu, you lucky duck. What has been your favorite experience thus far?
14th April 2010

My favorite experience so far, I'd like to say going llama riding, or taking part in some andean traditional ceremony...but the truth is the best part was going to the mall in Lima with another girl in the exchange program. Becuase they don't let you ride the llamas, and the indigenous have way less interest in thier ceremonies than I do. And the thing is, after all the miles, the vaccinations, and the official papers: its the same. What can I say? the world is flat. And if you saw the facebook pictures from our day at the mall, you would agree we had bunches of fun.
16th April 2010

Here's my comment, dear :)
Can you really buy cow hearts from street vendors? Do you cook there? What do you eat?
23rd April 2010

Yes! Anticuchos, Quechua for Cut Stew Meat, are generally skewers of Cow hearts, theres a wikipedia page if you're interested. Not recommended in Lima but delcious in Cusco! Peruvian food is kind of really out there, cow's stomach, guinea pig, dehydrated sting rays . Theres a lot of earthy flavors utilized (foods taste like dirt sometimes) Peruvian food is relatively bland, not many dishes are spicy or cilantrolicious. I mainly go for the chicken, rice, sandwiches, cows stomach i actually find delicous. I have yet to learn how to cook :( Theres a wikipedia page under "peruvian cuisine" that gives a pretty complete list of everything. I plan to be a lot more adventurous in the next weeks and months.

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb