Urubamba is Boring


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Urubamba
November 18th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, It's Nat! Yes I'm still alive!

Ok, first things first. Health Update: One of the reasons we went to Urubamba today was so I could go to a health clinic. What an ordeal in itself! We kept going to different clinics and the doctors wouldn't see me because they were on lunch for 2 to 3 hours! Finally ran across one who saw me right away and the doctor spoke a little english and we managed to communicate ok. Mom you'll be happy to know that when the doctor took my temperature, I did not have a fever. So now I've got some antibiotics and something for inflamation of my throat (I think) which I'll take for about 4 days. But the good news is that I was out all day today and even though it was hard at the end, I made it. I rested for about an hour when we got back and now i feel pretty good again. So every day I am slowly, slowly getting a tiny little bit better. Ve has also been amazing and looking after my every need (as he keeps reminding me). He's very patient with all the waiting around. But I think he's getting a little bored of sitting around and staring at mountains. Although he definitely enjoys playing with all the dogs you saw in the pics from yesterday.

My dinner's almost ready, I just want to say a quick note about Urubamba. Sucks. Not much going on. Pisac defintely wins over Urubamba. We hung out in the Plaza de Armas for most of the day. Then I noticed that behind us was the Municipal building and the had a little display about the Master Plan of the Sacred Valley. Had to check that out. Took about 2 minutes. There was no shopping or anything in town. A few restaurants. We had an awful early dinner where I couldn't cut my grilled chicken with a knife it was soooo dry. Now my leftovers from yesterday are waiting for me. Veggie lasagna which was delicioso!

I just want to say one more little comment about the amazing place we{re staying. The Green House is like a little paradise. Its amazing. Our hosts, Bryan & Gabriel are super nice and relaxed and the location is phenomenal. The mountains are HUMONGOUS! Every which way we turn on the road there{s another amazing view. It is so beautiful here.

Tomorrow we're off to Ollantaytambo, which is supposed to be a nice town.

Advertisement



18th November 2009

More about paradise
Tell us more about the Green House. Sounds amazing. Thanks Ve for filling in while Nat was convalecing. My favorite picture so far is Ve at the market. Looking forward to your next story.

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb