One pissed off guide away from dying


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Manu National Park
August 17th 2005
Published: September 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Amazon Lodge ViewAmazon Lodge ViewAmazon Lodge View

From the porch of the Amazon Lodge
What a wonderful way to wake-up - to the sound of a roaring river surrounded with natural light. There are probably on 2 better ways to wake up, but that's a different kind of blog. (Angelina Jolie, if you're reading this, call me!)

Breakfast was simple, yet elegant and delicious, consisting of granola, an egg omelet and bread. Ok, my definition of elegant has really gone down hill on this trip. There was also cinnamon-laced hot chocolate that was awesome.

Anyhow, with Stinky Buns not feeling too well, the guide, Silly Buns, and I took off on our morning walking tour of the Cloud Forest. It was nice to walk through it while our guide explained a lot about the flora. I lost a fight with a wasp and it bit me on my chest. Now I have a third nipple, a nipplette if you will.

We got back and had a very refreshing lunch consisting of white rice, stuffed avocado, lentils, and potatoes. There was also bacon, but I resisted. During our stay here, I came across a book which I have started reading. I might have to "borrow" it after I leave because now that I've
ButterflyButterflyButterfly

Not much to show from today
started it...

So next, we got into the landrover to head to the Amazon lodge. This entailed another 2 hour drive, followed by a 10 minute river crossing by scary boat, and another 10 minute ride in a scary car. In the end, we arrived at a beautiful, yet extremely isolated location with no phone. It was serene, but when you thought about how isolated you were, it got a little scary. Suddenly, our guide became the most important person in the world to me. So, I made sure she stayed happy. Don't piss this person off! Not that I have a habit of doing that or anything. 😉 So, we had some time for a late afternoon hike through the jungle before we lost the light. It was pretty uneventful, until we ran into a couple of monkeys on our way back. The climate was incredibly hot and humid, so I wasn't paying attention and missed the monkeys.

Anyhow, I'm beat, so hopefully tomorrow will be nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb