Mountain Biking to Heaven


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Manu National Park
August 16th 2005
Published: September 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Manu BiosphereManu BiosphereManu Biosphere

Now, why would you stand right in front of the sign!? Work with me, people!
Today, we set off to the Manu Biosphere in the Amazon rainforest. This sounds so exciting, but first we have to spend the entire day in an SUV to get there. The roads are poor in this country making the ride very bumpy and uncomfortable, but hey I can rough it! 😊 Anyhow the ride is mostly uneventful, but our guide, Ingrid, is very nice and points out a lot of flora/fauna along the way to keep us interested. Eventually, we make it into the preserve where we hop onto mountain bikes made in the late 80s and sold at Walmart. It was downhill the whole way to the Cloud Forest Lodge where we would spend the night. This was my first time mountain biking and I have to say that I truly don't see the big deal. I mean (for a guy anyway), you've got this seat beneath you that vibrates up and down over any little bump ... I'm just saying after a few nicks, it get's a little uncomfortable. So I truly admire those tour de france guys who stay on these things for 3 weeks - geez. Anyway, it was fun nonetheless to be out of the
Fireplace at Cloud Forest LodgeFireplace at Cloud Forest LodgeFireplace at Cloud Forest Lodge

The place is less blurry in real life.
car and have some physical activity.

Anyhow, I wasn't sure what to expect of our accomodations, but I have to say that the Cloud Forest Lodge is a slice of heaven. The whole place is constructed of cedar wood with huge windows. There are a series of rooms with balconies that overlook a river. The lodge itself had a bunch of interesting nooks and crannies. We were still at an elevation of about 9000 feet so the air was cool, crisp, and refreshing. Ahhh. But before we had a chance to settle in, we set off on a short hike to a viewing area where we saw a bunch of cocks of the rock. Yes, you heard me. These birds are all red from the breast on up (prolly out of embarrassment for their name). Cool looking birds, but they're birds afterall - not really what I came here to see. Gimme a puma damn it!

Anyhow, when we returned to the lodge, I spent a good deal of time in a hot shower which felt great. Then I loafed around the lodge in my flip flops reading various things, and sitting by the fireplace. Basically, just relaxing
Cock of the RockCock of the RockCock of the Rock

With a name like that, I was expecting something else.
and being lazy until dinner. Lights went out at 9PM, but we had to get some rest anyway for out trip tomorrow to get to the Amazon lodge which is about where the rainforest begins.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Cock of the Rock againCock of the Rock again
Cock of the Rock again

They are pretty though.
Cock of the Rock again againCock of the Rock again again
Cock of the Rock again again

What can I say - I really dig my cocks of the rock.
Late nightLate night
Late night

I could've stayed on that couch forever.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb