April 15th - 17th


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » La Convención » Quillabamba
April 19th 2014
Published: April 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I like Tuesdays best. We pack a lunch; it was peppers stuffed with veggies and meat and covered in batter then deep fried, slabs of potatoes, tomatoes and then fruit picked from the trees here. Then we take an hour ride up the mountain, seeing the valley below at every turn. This week, the van got stuck. We all got out and collected slabs of rock to put in the ruts and then pushed and pushed. It took awhile but we got it. At the top we have a 20 min walk through the forest to the Inca site that is our project. I doubt if I will get a chance at excavating before I leave, but I do really love the machete. I hacked through 3 1-2 foot wide trees this time. Then walk down, ride through the sky almost, and showers at home. I'm tired, I'm happy, it's incredible. Next, it's ride to town, check emails and have a beer. On return, Isa (our cook) now allows me to help her prepare supper. She's an extremely good cook and protective of her kitchen so I feel honoured. Sleep comes quickly after supper with all the hard work and fresh air.

The next day, we clear more inca ruins at another site before lunch. After lunch we move the second pile of sand for the pool that we are making. As always, we return to town in the evening for internet and beer.

On Thursdays, we clean the house. There are more of us now and so the job is easier. After lunch, we gather wood from the land to make grass cutting easier. We walk the citrus orchard, we walk the hardwood orchard, we walk the edges of the corn field, we walk beneath the passion fruit vines and trees. We end up with huge piles of dried wood that has been pruned from trees earlier. That means that tonight there will be a fire. This property is much larger than what is planted, its thick forest past the edges of what is used. I put newly fallen citrus in my pockets as I walked, the scent of lemon leaves strong in my nose. Everyone is interested in my flint and striker, so we used it to start the fire. The difficulty of it makes us laugh, but no one is willing to give up. The sky was clear so the stars jump at us from the dark with this atmosphere that is thinner than what I am use to. As the fire burned, the full moon rose from behind the mountains, to make the stars fade. The beauty was compelling and made it very difficult to go to bed. Three of our number pulled out mattresses and slept by the fire. I stayed under my bug net. We have Easter weekend now, so it is another long weekend off and all the volunteers are going to Cusco. It should be fun.

Good Night and Sweet Dreams

Advertisement



20th April 2014

Hi, Gill!
Peru sounds like a treasure; your blog entries are a joy to read and the photos are amazing. You missed out on another 4" of snow here, just after we thought the snow was gone for good. However, we are being promised spring weather starting today. xxx, Dee
27th April 2014

Wow, the beauty of the place sounds and looks so compelling. You'll no doubt be sad to leave these mountains and this work and these people, but that sadness will be offset by seeing jake again. Thank you for such beautiful descriptions of your marvelous adventure and experiences. with all my love Jxo
27th April 2014

Wow, the beauty of the place sounds and looks so compelling. You'll no doubt be sad to leave these mountains and this work and these people, but that sadness will be offset by seeing jake again. Thank you for such beautiful descriptions of your marvelous adventure and experiences. with all my love Jxo

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb