Inca trail day 1


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
June 9th 2016
Published: July 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total the day we officially start the Inca trial. Basically terrified not so much of the trail but of the weight of both my bags. I seem borderline for the porter bag and my packs about 6 kg. I ended up sending back my camera case, phone charger, camera charger and adaptors to Cusco with Andreas to try and lighten my load.



Breakfast at hotel was 7 and we were picked up by Joel at 8. Joel always uses Inca time to meet us meaning he wants you there no later than 5 minutes before the time he wants to leave.



We met our assistant guide Cesar. Both the boys seem really fun and joke around a lot together. It was about a 45 minute drive to the start of the Inca trail.



At weigh in my bag was 1 k over so I had to unpack and carry more in my day pack so my day pack ended up around 7kg. So I'm very very nervous about this.



Our passports and tickets where checked and then we took a token group shot at the Inca Trail sign and then set off.



Walking poles were a new experience. Not sure if my operation of them was more of a hindrance or a help.



Today's total was about 11-12 k. For some reason I thought 5 which was the last day so obviously I was in for a shock. We walked for a bit with 2 or 3 little break before lunch. Nice scenic walk along river. I know today they say is easy and it's what the guides called Inca flat. Little bit of up little bit of down and a little flat all on top of each other. It wasn't too bad. Lunch was soup and fish. We had lunch next to a pretty river and after eating had about 40 minutes spare time to relax and a few had a nap. Again the next section was Inca flat. After one part of a gentle downhill part we saw a steep incline on other side. It wast a real wake up call and tough going in the sun.



I ended up very sweaty. It was an incline all the way to camp and would be an incline first part of tomorrow.



On the walk Joel showed us the parasite on the cactus used to colour the alpaca wool that we had seen yesterday and painted warrior faces on all of us.



Today's walk also took us past several Inca sites some from a distance and others we could climb through and sit on. Cesar gave us a historical talk and then we were given some free time to take pictures.



While hiking all the porters walk or run past. It's crazy what they can carry. G Adventures really look after them and provide them with back protectors, proper equipment, propper shoes and clothes. You can see some other porters loads do not look as comfortable and they are only in sandals.



Joel told us when people were overtaking to stay to the mountain side and let the porters or other hikers overtake on the open sides. Fine by me, I will hug that mountain. I am so not going near the edge especially when there are drops.



About halfway through the day my knee did start to play up and I was limping with my walk. I had already strapped it so I was worried about the next few days but I just kept going at my own pace and tried not to let it get to me.



At camp we picked our tents and were each given hot water to wash up. We cleaned up a little and then Sylvia lead us in a stretching class. The porters were pretty amused by us all exercising after the trek. We then met all the porters. They introduced themselves to us and then us to them. Joel said the waiter asked if I was single and Kelly's like yeah she is and she's ready to mingle. So that amused them all. After introductions we had happy hour which was some biscuits and hot drinks. Dinner was an hour later - chicken soup and chicken and veggies. Following every meal is hot water for coffee tea or hot chocolate.



Pretty impressed with this camp site - we are the only people there. It was a little cloudy tonight but still the stars were pretty incredible. We went to our tents to bed about 8 on so the porters could eat but read for around an hour or so before attempting to sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb